Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 6 January 2013
alison weir has opened up british history in a chronological list of all the monarchs, wives and family members from alfred to elizabeth ii. it is easy to understand the relationships and the conflicts between the major players of history.
i have read the book several times in one go and also use it for dipping in and out of to explain history biographies i am reading.
i use this book as a guide to my reading list. i have started at the beginning and have bought a biography of every monarch and their spouse and other major characters. i use the book as a catalogue of my collection.
this book has been so useful on days out when someone says "so what did this king do then?" that i have bought it on kindle too.
every school kid should be given a copy of this book on their first day at high school, it would make history lessons so much easier.
i cannot recommend this book highly enough, please buy it today
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2011
This book is useful as a jumping off point in doing genealogical research, but without source citations it is of dubious actual value. I consider it to be in the same category as Wikipedia; it's a good place to start. At least Wikipedia sometimes provides actual footnotes as opposed to a "select bibliography". This is lazy scholarship.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2016
I think that this is an excellent book, very well written. It gives the basic information about all members of the Royal Families going back to pre Norman times. There is also some useful information given about many of the Royal Family members. This book took Alison Weir about 22 years to write, and looking at the list of reference works she has reviewed, this is not surprising. On several occasions some information has been based on what she believes is most llikely to have happened, where there is little or no firm proof. I find this very helpful as this is not generally found in other reference books I have read. It is only, I guess, through her extensive research that she has been able to come to some of her conclusions. One other author has been involved in producing a similar but more involved work over the last few years but, within a few weeks of its anticipated release date, the release was cancelled, and I have heard nothing to make me believe that it will ever be published. For anyone interested in the history of British, not just English, Royal families, I believe that Alison Weir should be hugely congratulated for finishing what must have felt like a life's work. All of this can perhaps be summarised in one word. "Brilliant".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 September 2011
As far as I am aware, this is the most detailed overview of the genealogy of Britain's royal families in an affordable volume. Commencing with King Egbert of England and King Alpin of Scotland, Alison Weir traces the descent of all legitimate offspring of each monarch as well as the records allow. The ancient Welsh princes are not included, and the descent from illegitimate royal offspring is not pursued as rigorously. (Alas, for me, since I am told I am descended illegitimately from at least two medieval English monarchs).

Naturally, the records speak more as history progresses, allowing Weir to provide descents to the third or fourth degree, but the potential purchaser should be warned that this is most definitely a reference book; it is certainly not a narrative history of the monarchy in Britain.

Weir touches on possible `problems' of descent, such as the probable secret marriage by George III prior to his official one to Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, but I was surprised to note no mention of the possibilities of Edward IV's illegitimacy. But this is a minor quibble, for the covers of this book are already looking a bit dog-eared, so often have I delved inside for some detail of royal genealogy. And now, at least, I know where Prince Michael of Kent and the Duke of Gloucester fit into the present line of succession.

Whether historian or genealogist, republican or monarchist, this is a book that will answer innumerable questions about Britain and its rulers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
This excellent work of reference is great for any history buff, royal watcher or for the home library of any school child as a homework tool. It contains the vital information about the parents, grandparents, children and grandchildren of every monarch of Wessex, England, Scotland and the United Kingdom, and some other descendants in the direct line of succession who didn't directly succeed themselves, since King Egbert of Wessex (b around 769/80) and King Alpin of Scotland and of Kintyre (who succeeded to those Kingdoms in 834.
One thing that is worth mentioning, is that when the author, Alison Weir, was researching this and is some cases found more than one possible date for any event, or name or even identity for any particular individual, she chose to be completist and to include all the possibilities in this work, with an indication of what was likely or unlikely to be correct, as the case may be, so for those conducting a very academical or genealogical study of the subject of royal genealogy or history this should be treated as a very good starting point rather than sole reference, but this work nonetheless meets the needs of most people who would want to buy and refer to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2014
This is one of the best books I've ever had on the history of the various Royal Families in Britain. Clear and with sufficient detail, but not brilliantly laid out because as the progeny go on producing progeny of their own you tend to lose track of who you were looking up in the first place. I've learned more about history from this one book than many years of school.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2015
Found a inaccuracy in Edward of Middleham , according to all other documentation he was born Dec 1473 , but in this he was born spring 1476 ???? And maybe death date wrong according to others ? Seems a good book, but will be cross referencing in future just to make sure !
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2014
Absolutely splendid, just what I was seeking to compliment my genealogical researches. It provides copious amounts of basic information regarding inter family, sovereign and nobility, relationships. Oh why didn't I know about this Alison Wier aide memoire before. I fully recommend it for basic geneaology studies.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2014
Explains fully why most of our royals over the last 500 years have had extra toes, mental issues or been psychotic murderers with a lust for incest
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2015
When will people, possibly non-Historians, realize that Alison Weir writes many, many books but knows nothing about History?
All she produces can be picked up from surfing the Net . It's frightening how many people read her books and believe what she says. I'd like to be nice about her but I just can't. A generation of people have been taken in by her ramblings, it really worries me.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)