Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2014
It's early Spring, so I've so far tested this only in identifying galls in photographs. But the detail, the quality of images, and the little ecological asides all make it a delight to use. Although much less comprehensive than the AIDGAP key to British galls, this adds a lot because of the clarity of images. I'd expected to use this as a confirmatory guide, once I'd keyed something out using the larger book. In fact, the photos and the descriptions make it easy to use the book on its own much of the time. Well worth the price, this book should add to people's enjoyment of galls - but it's not simply for the specialist: like all books from Michael Chinery, it's very well written, and should make for more interesting country walks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I run a Wildlife Watch Club and used to use an old book with mainly black and white illustrations. Since purchasing this book the children have become more enthusiastic about galls and looking for them. This is because the photographs are so good together with the description and cause. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Always wanted to know more about them. Great photos and loads of detail, I will be studying this as I travel around the hedgerow next Spring and Summer looking for the galls shown in this book. Will be useful for explaining to the younger generation when we go exploring the countryside.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Quite simply, excellent. Of eight gall-guides on my shelf, from old to new, books to pamphlets, the WildGuides one is now my first and usually only stop. Good photographs, descriptions, easy to use, easy to read, just the right level of introduction. Indexed as usual under the host. Another first class addition to their series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
A very good book on a rather recondite subject. It was surprising how many we knew already but did not know the names or the natural history. Very good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
An intriguing insight into a little known corner of natural history.
Learning curve information presented in both text and colour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
This is a wonderful book for those of us who know nothing about plant galls. The book is very well written, easy to read and has fantastic pictures of all the most common galls. A really fascinating book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Fast delivery and an excellent book.Already been gall hunting and found some right on my doorstep.Easy to use and very informative
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Brilliant guide
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
A fantastic littlepocket sized book that is full of useful information and photographs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)