Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2017
An excellent photographic companion to The Field Guide to Dragonflies and Damselflies of Britain and Ireland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Ace field guide easy to use all stage of the lifecycle included
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Excellent reference book would reccomend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
well received gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
Excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Excellent photographic account
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 August 2014
It seems rare that everybody agrees on one thing and with reference works like this it's usually rarer - but this is the exception, as you can see from browsing the reviews here. I got into Dragonflies through photographing wildlife, then sharing these on internet groups and it was through one of these groups (that specialises in Dragonflies), that I was recommended this book.

I have to say that this is one of the best books of its type that I have read or used - the text is very interesting and if you are looking for places to photograph, it takes you through all the things you need to know in a logical way. Looking at habitats, biology etc. - that is , when/where to find your subjects and where they are likely to be.

The book is interesting to read at home for background and when looking at photographs you have taken - in many cases I have changed my mind about what I was looking at, on the basis of reading the indentification guides. It is also designed to take with you - as it is reasonably small and has a plastic cover to protect it.

In spite of its compact nature though, this is comprehensive in its coverage of all 56 British species and every page is packed with useful facts. There are excellent colour photographs and diagrams, on virtually every page - typically the maps and diagrams on the left and several full-colour photos on the right. All the photos are pin-sharp and clear in showing you the full spectrum of all British Dragonflies and Damselflies - Male and Female, with Juveniles and Larvae.

I can't recommend this book highly enough - the only choice if you are interested in photographing, identifying or studying these wonderful creatures in their natural habitat.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
I'd given up looking for a dragonfly fieldguide in the late nineties/early noughties and put the idea out of my mind so was delighted when a buddy recently turned up with one. This is a beautiful book. The photos are superb and plentiful with distribution maps and text on facing page with coloured headings, page refs, ID highlights. The typeface is very easy to read with well spaced lines and the whole page is very attractively laid out. Useful quickviews at bottom of page for Lookalikes, Where to Look and Observation Tip. Nice touch is the laminated cover and 100 mm measure on edge of back cover.
Only downside is that fine quality of paper makes it a bit heavy to carry around for long, especially with other guides in the backpack, but for a half day around a reserve, or to keep in the car it's fine. Well worth buying.even just to browse and learn from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
This is a really nice book for dragonfly fans. Every dragonfly and damselfly that you are likely to see in this country is here. There are lots of diagrams and photos to help identify what you have seen. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
This is, in my view, the best field guide to British dragonflies we have had to date. Some guides have all the information, but something about them means you cannot somehow process it (or maybe it's just me). With this book you cannot help but be drawn in. The presentation is excellent, the photos mostly so, with generally very good and useful text that you want to read. Not perfect - there are a few minor mistakes if I nitpick - but this is the one to have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)