Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
10
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2008
A great book for people just starting out in poker and should last long until they get used to using the advanced strategies but anyone who already has played a fair bit might just read this and not learn anything new.

The first few pages are about how to set up your internet connection, how to play and how to make a deposit in a poker room.All of which i think are pretty obvious even for people who have never done it before.The rest even through the advanced pages are still pretty obvious like check raising,bluffing and semi bluffing then what sites they recommend and add on programs to calculate odds.

As i said earlier this book is great for a beginner but for someone who has a read a few poker books i wouldn't recommend.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
After flicking through Brilliant Online Poker in Borders I picked up copy from Amazon for a friend, who has been playing poker online for a few months now. He can't put it down! And to make things worse he's got me playing as well. The book is a great read, for someone like me who didin't even know the basics I learnt how to play the game and what cards to fold, there are intermediate strategies for people with a bit more experience and an advanced section (which I'm hoping to get to, eventually) which my friend swears has been invaluable. There's plenty of other information on tells, common mistakes and other resources you might not have heard of to improve your game. I can't recommend it enough! Well explained, concise and covers just about everything you need to know.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2006
Searching through all the titles on this website looking for a poker book aimed at complete beginners, I stumbled across this item. I can only repeat the title. This book is 'brilliant'. Following the detailed instructions which are accompanied by extremely helpful diagrams, I was able to pick up the basics of the game within a very short time. Having read the book completely the first time, I now use it as a reference guide and have even been know to have it by my side whilst playing with friends. Much to their amusement. If the game interests you, but you don't know where to start, this is the book for you. Take my word for it, give it a try and you won't be disappointed
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2007
Because poker is a game of skill rather than luck, it's essential that you gain a good understanding of the fundamantals rather than learning through trial and error. This book takes you from complete beginner to some more advanced strategy without getting too technical. Superb book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
Should be called "beginners online poker". Thats all it is. A beginners guide. No more, no less. Doesn't make it a poor book, but just don't expect any depth to it. Misleading title.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
The book is packed full of answers and practical tips for the would be on-line gambler including enough cautions about the risks involved. I would like to have read more about playing against the online casino computers and whether they can forecast the next move you will make. Having tried it out I am sceptical about whether truly random cards or numbers are generated by the computer, as it seems to have a lot more luck than I did!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2009
If your not a beginner, this is a complete waste of time. In the whole book there are probably about 10 pages you will read as the majority of the contents are just basic information.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
Full of useful tips for the noob (even my Dad understood it) but will leave more experienced players feeling short changed. Having said that, it's easy to forget some of the basics and the tables are useful. Worth a punt if it's on sale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2008
I have to agree with the other reviews.

If you are new to the game, this is a must read book!

Read it before anything else, and at least it will give you all you need to play the game, and not feel like a complete FISH.

Once you have learned from this book, you can progress onto more detailed books with the Basic knowledge required to understand them.

I actually borrowed this book from the local library, and found it very interesting and informative as well as being very easy to read and understand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2015
no on my list
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)