Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 October 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
This was a very good read, I bought it as some extra reading for my history a - level on Nazi Germany and it was very good for that purpose, it goes over key events from start to end of the third reich yet doesn't feel rushed and is easy to read. It isn't at all complicated so if you're looking for an in depth analysis of Nazi Germany this isn't the book however for some basic knowledge or to brush up on your knowledge it's excellent. I would highly recommend the book
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is the first book I've read about WWII, and at 302 pages (not including the notes) it's been a great way to get some basic knowledge before diving into the weightier tomes available.

The language is simple and concise, and the information is broken up into digestible chapters and subheadings, making it easy to understand and absorb.

Whittock frequently uses details of real individuals' lives to open a chapter, using that as a way into the bigger picture. This adds interest and human depth to what is already an impressively pithy and accessible account of the vast events of WWII.

Highly recommended to newcomers!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I bought this book because I was interested in how some one as apparently evil as Hitler could be voted in to power by a civilized country. I have read a few 'heavy' history books that, for me, go into too much detail and I begin to lose interest so I was attracted by the title. It is both well written and fascinating. I have watched quite a few World War Two documentaries on tv and I still learned quite a bit from this book. As well as the well known reasons for the rise of the Nazi's like the treaty of Versailles and the post World War One depression the author goes in to the roles of the Christian Church, the other political parties and the Kaiser among others. Obviously there are more comprehensive books available but this covered everything that I wanted to know.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
History writing today is far to often about the great exposure. History writing has often become too much like tabloid reporting.

You won't find anything groundbreaking in this book. Don't expect to. This is a solid and accessible history that brings together the great research done by other researchers on the topic. This is clearly the author's intention. I would recommend this to people as a starting point for anyone wishing to study Nazi Germany and for some A-Level students of the topic.

This book is exactly what it says, a Brief History of the Third Reich. An excellent starting point for this topic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
A very good book when all is said and done. It is concise clear and well written, it is fairly brief but manages to be thoroughly informative too. As the title suggests the book traces the rise of the Nazi's from their days of being a minor footnote in an ocean of conflicting political parties to their summit to power. The book could quite as easily have had the sub heading 'The Nature of Germany under the Third Reich' as this is a key focus; from the persecution of the Jews to the handling of religion or the economy or young people or women during the regime, all is here.

I just read this on a whim, I don't have any particular interest in the Nazi's (no more than any other period of history) but I enjoyed it a lot and now feel well informed on the subject. My point is that this book is brilliant as a stand alone read, not necessarily just as an introduction to the topic or as research. So I strongly recommend it.

Byebye.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
A well written book, giving details of the events leading up to WWII and the background to the main people involved. It also gives a bit of the history of the countries involved and looks at the causes of how these countries became involved. The book goes on to describe some of the politics, internal wrangles and opponents of Germany during the years after WWI and WWII. You get to see how Hitler rose to power and why, then discover the reason for his and Germany's downfall. Along the way you get to learn a lot about various aspects of the German military and indeed what they stood for (and against). I found that I learned a great deal about WWII and found the book very educational. It is a good read for anyone wanting to learn about the war without getting too "bogged" down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
An engaging and effective one volume overview of the rise and fall of Nazi Germany. There are libraries of books on Nazi Germany and most ordinary people do not have the time to read them. This book distills a huge amount of reading, in order to give such an interested person the opportunity to see the wood-for-the-trees in this most tragic and complex area of history. And its thorough system of referencing (and extensive bibliography) means that the reader can track down the more academic and particular studies if they so wish. As a result, the general reader; the A-Level student; and the undergraduate wanting to get an overview before further study, will find this book a valuable and accessible source of information and a balanced overview of interpretations. Chapters cover the nature and collapse of Weimar Germany; the rise of the NSDAP; the complex reasons leading to Hitler gaining power; the social and economic impact of Nazi rule on different areas of German society; Nazi racial policy and the Holocaust; Nazi foreign policy; Germany at war and the reasons for Nazi defeat. Each chapter begins with the experiences of a particular German (or Germans) in order to put people at the heart of this well researched account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
This is a good book for any-one who wants to learn about the build up to Hitler's Reich and its subsequent downfall. A good potted history and hopefull will encourage the reader to take a deeper interest that period of history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
A complete rundown on the history of the Third Reich. Without spoiling too much, the background of the Nazi party and Hitler's reasoning for building the Third Reich is contained within this book. It was a truly addictive read and would reccomend to anybody who has interest in World War 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)