Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2017
Fast Delivery and perfect choice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
This has to be one of the worst plays I have ever read. It is a miracle that such an excellent film could be made of it. Waffling songs, a truly unrealistic love story - two people fall madly in love with each other after a meeting on a railway station and one visit to see a film together. Lust is the name of the game and we surely are mature enough in 2015 to recognise this kind of attraction as such and not muddle it with words of love.
Freak Out! My Life with Frank Zappa
44 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Brilliant Jenny Seagrove was a brilliant choice. You can shut your eyes and you can imagine being there like a fly on a wall watching and listening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 February 2004
The basic story is of a brief encounter between two people at a train station in post-war Britain. Each were married to someone else, and committed to different lives. They fall in love; but it is a hopeless situation. How will they resolve this? Will they resolve this? What would you do in the situation?
The movie is enhanced by reading the Screen play. You will pick up details that were just implied in the movie. Also the background introduction by Sheridan Morley gives you information on how the short play that was part of a series became a classic movie. The book contains stills of the movie. You'll find the screen play just as emotional as the movie however you will have to supply your own copy of Rachmaninoff's Concerto no. 2 in C minor.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
If you know the film, this will be so familiar. I did find Jenny Seagrove just a little forced perhaps but it was difficult to separate it from Celia Johnsons performance!!!! There is very little in the way of sound effects which I missed but don't get me wrong. I couldn't wait to play this and I wasn't disappointed. It is every bit as moving as the film and I thoroughly recommend this play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2011
'Brief Encounter'has long been a favourite of mine,and the DVD has been a source of much pleasure for me. So it was thatwhen I stumbled on the BBC radio dramatisation of this much loved story,I decided to purchase it.
Frankly,it has been sheer magic! A great professional cast adds a realism dimension that enables it to stand in it's own right. Just close your eyes,relax,and let youself be transported into the world of two individuals who meet and fall in love,when the terms 'lady' and 'gentleman' really meant something... Treat yourself to the radio delight,you won't regret it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Great stuff it brought back all the memories of the film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
Fairly close to the film. Sad I thought especially at the end when Lady talks with her husband. I think it must be that he obviously worked out what was wrong supposedly from her behaviour as he says something to her when she comes back to him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Interesting treatment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here