Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2001
This is another great story from the Dick Francis stable. He has yet again come up with new characters to learn about and as usual,things and people are not always what they at first seem. I found this to be one of the better Francis books, the plot was thick enough to be interesting but not so thick that you got bogged down with trying to keep up with all the characters and plot twists. The story centers around a jockey, Kit Fielding, who ties to help out his twin sister and her husband when a vicious newspaper campaign threatens thier livlihood as race horse trainers. Kit has to try to forget that his sisters husband is an old enemy of the family and goes on to try to sort out what becomes an increasingly nasty and violent affair. Kit has to also keep up his job, riding winners for the Princess but he also finds time for a little love interest in the Princess' beautiful niece. Watch out for everyone in the story because as I said earlier people are not always what they seem!! I liked this book and would recommend it for any first time Dick Francis reader or someone who has already read some of his books. A very good 4 star rating from me!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Have previously read all the Dick Francis novels and 99% of them are excellent. Now rereading them on kindle and it is like coming back to an old friend. Unfortunately these excellent stories are let down by the number of typo errors that occur in the Kindle versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
I have read nearly all of the Dick Francis books. The entire collection is, in my opinion, unbeatable. It is a job to put whichever book you are reading, down. I fully recommend all of the books in the Dick Francis Library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
the first of two kit fielding novels by the brilliant Mr Francis. both brilliant reads and my only disappointment is that there wasn't a third book with the character starring in it. There's a thought for his son Felix to think about!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
Love the jockey Kit Fielding. Enjoyed particularly the descriptions in this book of the rapport (or not) between the jockey and his various mounts as well as the details of riding the various courses.
As writers use their own experiences when writing it is obvious that the relationship between the Princess Cassili and her jockey has gained much from the years during which Francis rode for the Queen Mother.
Fielding has a heck of a lot of backbone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
I read all of Dick Francis' boooks many years ago in paperback. I have now bought them all for my Kindle and loved reading them again. This oen was particularly good and I really enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
Story is good but lots and lots of typesetting mistakes. Things didn't make sense in parts due to clumsy errors but it is possible to read and I liked the role of Thomas the chauffeur!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
A typical Francis novel full of twists and turns and an unexpected ending. Even if you know nothing about horse racing or even horses in general you learn something of interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
A typical good Dick Francis read. Kit is s good central character and the " princess " is an excellent addition to the plot. If you like Dick Francis you will like this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
As always very well written and plausible, with a gripping plot, genuine characters, particularly the hero,and vastly entertaining. Great value as usual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here