Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Branch Line Britain: A Nostalgic Journey Celebrating a Golden Age
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 May 2017
My husband is very pleased with this book - only thing missing is Paignton to Kingswear Line which is a pity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2008
This could best be described as a general book and not specific to any line or railway company. As it says its a nostalgic look at a byegone age. I enjoyed reading it and had not seen the majority of the pictures before. A lot of the pictures have a lot of detail such that you can pick it up again and again. This will not suit you if you want specific detail but if you want a good railway read I recommend it. I went on to buy along country lines if thats any recommendation.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
Another first class book from Paul Atterbury - again full of interesting photos and packed with nostalgia.
Like the rest of his railway nostalgia books, it can be read again and again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
Given that there must be a finite limit to the number of photographs surviving, even in private collections, this is an excellent source of pictorial and other information for model makers. Mr Atterbury knows his subject well and is an excellent communicator; I now have 3 of his books and all are good resources as well as enjoyable reading.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2009
Can't fault this book at all, fantastic photographs of the many branchlines, and very informative. An absolute unique book that anyone remotely interested in Britain's lost railways will find impossible to put down.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Mr Atterbury has produced a fascinating book which is very well written and compiled as one would expect after having witnessed Mr Atterbury's performances on the Antiques Roadshow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Lovely book, obviously written by an enthusiast on top of his game. Great photos and interesting text make this a highly recommended read about railways in the recent past.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Lots if photographs and nostalgia as well as useful info. Was a much appreciated gift. Would recommend for stocking filler or birthday. Great buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Excellent content and good presentation. Very good reading. I enjoy it immensely. I am now considering collecting the whole set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
The quality of the book in all aspects is excellent. This brings back memories of my youth in the early sixties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)