Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
49
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2010
History Brainbox is the fifth game we have bought. The others have been excellent in every way, and totally enjoyable. This one is disappointing due to number of errors on the cards. No big deal if you are playing for fun, but not so good if you expect educational value.

A sample of errors include a Lancaster bomber in the Battle of Britain, and 58,000 soldiers killed on the first day of the Battle of Somme. The illustration of British soldiers uniform in green is also a novelty. In the 100 years war, an english king in full armour with heraldic dress is labelled as a french soldier. The omission of Agincourt from the card may not be an error, but does seem curious. And did Shakespeare really write books, or plays?

If you don't mind the errors, go and buy, it is a challenging and fun game. But for us its a shame that the manufacturers did not do their homework.
22 comments| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
My 9 and 13 year old love this game, they play it as a team so if there are 2 playing they get 20 secs to look at card then I ask alternate questions, passing to the other if the first doesn't know answer.Makes a great change from seeing them on the ps3!!
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
We were looking forward to receiving this game as it was a 'late Christmas present' and as we love History hoped it would help build up our knowledge.

Whilst the game is quite good fun it is a bit thin on actual historical questions. Most of the questions revolve around observation of the picture on the front eg is Robin Hood wearing a hat? and on Margaret Thatcher - 'is Margaret Thatcher wearing earrings?'

Good for improving memory and observation skills, with some interesting facts, but not as educational as it could be.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
An inspired decision to purchase Brainbox History - the recipient loved it. This is the second Brainbox given to the same child as a gift (the first was animals)and I have been left in no doubt as to what W wants for Christmas
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
Played this with "kids" aged 10-40 and ended up in fits of giggles. Now the youngest is asking for the other boxes too
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2009
quick fun game, can be played with as many people as you want for as long as you want. Kids might even learn a few facts whilst playing, which is a bonus!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Good idea but not many cards in a box, we got through all the answers in a couple of sittings and before long knew the answers to the questions. More about observation than learning facts. Good idea in principle but think it needs more cards and extended questions. My five year old managed it fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I was a bit apprehensive about purchasing this game after reading some of the negative reviews. My only criticism is that there are quite a few spelling errors. However, i have personally found that it helps my 8 year old son to concentrate, as he sometimes gets easily distracted and loses interests in games quick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
A brilliant product for those children who like history as all the family can play and learn at the same time. As a family we have spent hours playing and learning at the same time. Reasonable price and a product that will not break after five minutes. Very educational and a change from a book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
WOW what a fantastic game. My daughters were very impressed. It is a fun memory game which can be played by a group or solo. You can choose how long you wish to play for and will also help your childs concentration and memory skills. We were so impressed that we bought another 4 brainbox games.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99
£6.85
£7.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)