Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2015
As a neuroscientist and psychiatrist this book really appealed to me as it links parenting advice to scientific evidence about baby brain development. Having read some of the bits where I have a professional knowledge of the primary literature, I would say that the presentation is balanced and measured. Also very quick entertaining read.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Great book for parents and health professionals a few years ago - still good but now there are a few others on the market.
I like the language and the humour of the author and the "seed and soil" differentiation. The chapter about the relation ship of the new parents is good to read if possible before birth. Annette
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Some good information backed up by sound research. The only problem is there is a lot of reading to get through for each point which takes up a lot of time. Time you don't have as the parent of a baby :) Also there are only a handful of useful or practical/applicable things you can take away from the book, yes they are worthwhile things, but more would be better as well as efficiency in conveying these. Otherwise good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Fascinating book. Well written in the "fun" science way of a lot of books. The book is a fun read but still manages to give you great information to understand how the brain works. It has peaked my interest in the subject and i think i will look into more books about the brain. I would definitely recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
I found the book extremely well put together, tackling a large bulk of salient topics. And very well written for the layman. Though, whilst the detail was good in most cases, some of the detail did not apply to me, a regular working new parent simply looking for key approaches and tools. If in a similar position, I would still highly recommend reading this but skimming through some sections.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2016
Brilliant book providing a good understanding into children's behaviour. At least I feel I now know what I should try to be doing when little one finally pops out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2016
A really interesting book that helps you with the development of your child from a scientist's point of view. I found it quite objective and really really helpfull. I really recomend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Too much detail that gets you bored at times however would definitly recomend reading as there is too much to learn from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
very interesting read explaining all the different things that can make your brain work better throughout your life, and has separated it into sections (i.e. sleep, eating, exercise etc). more like advice than rules and worth a read for any one of any age
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
This book is a must have for any parent, so mind blowing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)