Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Brahms:Two Viola Sonatas ... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Brahms:Two Viola Sonatas [Yuri Bashmet; Ksenia Bashmet] [Fondamenta: FON-1802030]

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £19.25 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 2 Mar 2018
£10.72 £32.02
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Johannes Brahms
  • Audio CD (2 Mar. 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Fondamenta
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 523,158 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Song Title
1 Not Available
2 Not Available
3 Not Available
4 Not Available
5 Not Available
6 Not Available
7 Not Available
8 Not Available
9 Not Available

Product description

Product Description

The works of chamber music that showcase the timbre of the viola, so delicate and so profoundly human, are relatively scarce. Brahms two sonatas, Op. 120, elegant and highly expressive, sublimate the extreme sensitivity of the viola with a simplicity that only perfect mastery of musical composition can achieve. The music of Brahms and Yuri Bashmet's viola were made for each other. Here again, Yuri Bashmet has transformed the previously modest viola into a brilliant solo instrument in its own right. Admirably accompanied by her daughter, Ksenia Bashmet, he takes us into a world of depth, virtuosity and aesthetic prowess. Bashmet founded the International Viola Competition in Moscow, a competition that remains, to this day, the only one devoted to this instrument in Russia. This renowned viola player constantly makes international headlines in the realm of music, and his talent has been rewarded on countless occasions in both Russia and the rest of the world. Since 1983, when he was awarded the title of Artist Emeritus of the RSFSR, Bashmet has garnered titles and awards: winner of the State Prize of the USSR in 1986, Peoples Artist of the USSR in 1991, and he also won the State Prize of the Russian Federation in 1994, 1996 and 2001, and in 1993 was named instrumentalist of the year (the equivalent of an Oscar in the world of music). He is an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Music in London. In 1995, he was awarded one of the most prestigious prizes in the world, the Léonie Sonning Music Prize. In 1999, the French state appointed him Officier des Arts et des Lettres, and in 2003, he became a Commandeur de la Légion dHonneur. He is holds the most prestigious honour of the Republic of Lithuania, and in 2000, the President of Italy awarded him the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic. In 2002, the President of the Russia Federation gave him the Order for Merit to the Fatherland, third class. In 2013, Maestro Bashmet received the Order for Merit to the Fatherland, fourth class.

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

22 June 2018
Format: Audio CD
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?