Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Brahms; Complete Symphonies

Price: £14.12 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 6 Oct 2014
"Please retry"
£14.12 £13.99
Only 3 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
4 new from £14.12 1 used from £13.99
£14.12 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 3 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Un Poco Sostenuto - Allegro - Meno Allegro
  2. Andante Sostenuto
  3. Un Poco Allegretto E Grazioso
  4. Finale: Adagio - Piu Andante - Allegro Non Troppo, Ma Con Brio - Piu Allegro
  5. Allegro Con Brio
  6. Andante
  7. Poco Allegretto
  8. Allegro

Disc: 2

  1. Allegro Non Troppo
  2. Adagio Non Troppo
  3. Allegretto Grazioso (Quasi Andantino)
  4. Allegro Con Spirito
  5. Allegro Non Troppo
  6. Andante Moderato
  7. Allegro Giocoso
  8. Allegro Energico E Passionato

Product description

Product Description

There are many who believe that, if Beethoven wrote the Old Testament of the symphonic literature, then Brahms was the author of the New. Brahms certainly had a rich and complex relationship with tradition and novelty. You dont know what its like, having that giant at my heels, he ruefully remarked to one who was waiting, as was much of musical Europe at the time, for a First Symphony from a man whom Schumann had already proclaimed as Beethovens heir. In fact the giant referred to by Brahms may indeed have been Schumann and not Beethoven, for the First Symphony contains an embedded thematic narrative that links both composers through Schumanns wife Clara, and the complex relationship between the three was never to be satisfactorily resolved. Brahms conceived a somewhat desperate passion later in life for one of the Schumann children, and it may be said of him more truly than most creative artists that he subsumed many of his most private and turbulent feelings within his own work. Turbulence is certainly a keynote of these marvellous, dramatic recordings. Antal Doráti may be better known to us now as a Haydn and Stravinsky specialist, or at least pioneer, but the rhythmic spring he insisted upon is at least as germane to symphonies that have often laboured under heavier weights. Indeed his light-footed tempi and incisive articulation are among the reasons why this set, unusually, fits on two CDs.


This is about the most extrovert performance of Brahmss First that I have ever heard. Even I, a devotee of Klemperer and Walter, find the blood stirred by Doratis crisp, clean-cut attack and guiltily enjoy some of the outrageously fast speeds. --Gramophone, April 1961

A High-voltage First and great fervour in the Third and Fourth Symphonies makes Doarti's LSO Brahms performances really compelling. **** --BBC Music Magazine,Christmas'11

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Look for similar items by category