£26.99 + £1.26 UK delivery
Only 3 left in stock. Sold by TOP-MUSIC-UK

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Sold by: Music-Shop
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Brahms - Complete Piano Works Box set

4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
4 out of 5 stars 2 reviews from Amazon.com |

Price: £26.99
Only 3 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by TOP-MUSIC-UK.
4 new from £26.99 2 used from £16.00
£26.99 Only 3 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by TOP-MUSIC-UK.

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Piano Sonata No. 1 in C, Op. 1
  2. Scherzo in E Flat Minor, Op. 34

Disc: 2

  1. Piano Sonata No. 2 in F Sharp Minor, Op. 2
  2. Piano Sonata No. 3 in F Minor, Op. 5

Disc: 3

  1. Variations On a Theme of Paganini in a Minor, Op. 35
  2. Variations and Fugue On a Theme of Handel in B Flat, Op. 24

Disc: 4

  1. Variations On an Original Theme in D, Op. 1, No. 1
  2. Variations On a Hungarian Song in D, Op. 1, No. 2
  3. Variations On a Theme of Schumann in F Sharp Minor, Op. 9

Disc: 5

  1. Ballades, Op. 10
  2. Rhapsodies, Op. 79
  3. Klavierstucke, Op. 76

Disc: 6

  1. Fantasien, Op. 116
  2. Intermezzi, Op. 117
  3. Klavierstucke, Op. 118 & 119

Disc: 7

  1. Hungarian Dances 1-10
  2. 5 Piano Studies

Disc: 8

  1. Hungarian Dances 11-21
  2. Sarabandes 1 & 2
  3. Gavottes 1 & 2
  4. Gigues 1 & 2
  5. Transcription of a Gavotte By Gluck
  6. Study After an Impromptu By Schubert, Op. 90, No. 2
  7. Theme and Variations in D Minor

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Five Pianists Collaborate in Fine Brahms Set 2 May 2016
By Leslie Gerber - Published on Amazon.com
Since Brahms didn't write a huge amount of piano music, it's not surprising that a number of pianists have recorded his complete solo piano works, most prominently the late Julius Katchen. Brilliant's anonymous producer used five different pianists, Kamerhan Turan, from Turkey, plays the First Piano Sonata and the Op. 4 Scherzo with fluency to spare and strong tone. Karin Lechner plays the Waltzes, Op. 39, with charm and grace. The best known pianist of the bunch, Helene Grimaud, surprisingly provides the only disappointment of the set. She powers her way through the Second and Third Sonatas (apparently not the same version of the Third issued by Denon) with plenty of musicianship and technique, but there are moments when her tone turns unpleasantly glittery. The discovery of the set for this listener is Wolfram Schmitt-Leonardy, who plays two discs of variations. Even in the super-difficult Paganini and Handel sets he is completely in control and his sound never turns hard. Hakon Austbo, whom I know for his Messian recordings on Naxos, plays the five sets of short pieces, including some of Brahms's greatest music. He is a little mild for my taste in the Rhapsodies, Op. 79, but otherwise plays with beautiful sound and comprehension. Not quite in Kempff's league but close enough to be worth hearing. If available at Brilliant's usual bargain prices this set is highly recommendable.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars 19 April 2015
By Wyote - Published on Amazon.com
These are the CDs included in the Brahms masterworks box from Brilliant.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?