<Embed>
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £2.93 (29%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Boy with the Topknot:... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton Paperback – 30 Apr 2009

4.4 out of 5 stars 286 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£7.06
£5.34 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


  • Buy this product and stream 90 days of Amazon Music Unlimited for free. E-mail after purchase. Conditions apply. Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton
  • +
  • Marriage Material
  • +
  • Not Our Daughter!: The true story of a daughter-in-law
Total price: £26.63
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (30 April 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0141028599
  • ISBN-13: 978-0141028590
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 286 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 16,910 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

I absolutely loved it. Heartbreaking and wonderful. He writes beautifully (Maggie O'Farrell)

Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving (Observer)

About real secrets, in a real quest for understanding. It's tragic, funny and disturbing. It will challenge you, and may even change you (Carole Angier Independent)

Hilarious, engaging, tragicomic (Meg Rosoff Guardian)

'Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up (Hardeep Singh Kohli The Times)

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book (Psychologies)

Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (Time Out)

Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat (Jonathan Coe)

Funny, heartfelt (Marie Claire)

Hugely enjoyable (New Statesman)

Synopsis

It's 1979, I'm three years old, and like all breakfast times during my youth it begins with Mum combing my hair, a ritual for which I have to sit down on the second-hand, floral-patterned settee, and lean forward, like I'm presenting myself for execution. For Sathnam Sanghera, growing up in Wolverhampton in the eighties was a confusing business. On the one hand, these were the heady days of George Michael mix-tapes, Dallas on TV and, if he was lucky, the occasional Bounty Bar.On the other, there was his wardrobe of tartan smocks, his 30p-an-hour job at the local sewing factory and the ongoing challenge of how to tie the perfect top-knot. And then there was his family, whose strange and often difficult behaviour he took for granted until, at the age of twenty-four, Sathnam made a discovery that changed everything he ever thought he knew about them. Equipped with breathtaking courage and a glorious sense of humour, he embarks on a journey into their extraordinary past - from his father's harsh life in rural Punjab to the steps of the Wolverhampton Tourist Office - trying to make sense of a life lived among secrets.

See all Product description

286 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

12 November 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
26 March 2019
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
9 March 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
15 March 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
16 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
20 February 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: the wheels on the bus, best business books