Buying Options

Kindle Price: £5.49

Save £4.50 (45%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group.

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Choose delivery method and buy eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

These eBooks can only be redeemed by recipients in your country. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton by [Sanghera, Sathnam]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 285 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£5.49

Length: 340 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

I absolutely loved it. Heartbreaking and wonderful. He writes beautifully (Maggie O'Farrell)

Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving (Observer)

About real secrets, in a real quest for understanding. It's tragic, funny and disturbing. It will challenge you, and may even change you (Carole Angier Independent)

Hilarious, engaging, tragicomic (Meg Rosoff Guardian)

'Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up (Hardeep Singh Kohli The Times)

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book (Psychologies)

Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (Time Out)

Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat (Jonathan Coe)

Funny, heartfelt (Marie Claire)

Hugely enjoyable (New Statesman)

Synopsis

It's 1979, I'm three years old, and like all breakfast times during my youth it begins with Mum combing my hair, a ritual for which I have to sit down on the second-hand, floral-patterned settee, and lean forward, like I'm presenting myself for execution. For Sathnam Sanghera, growing up in Wolverhampton in the eighties was a confusing business. On the one hand, these were the heady days of George Michael mix-tapes, Dallas on TV and, if he was lucky, the occasional Bounty Bar.On the other, there was his wardrobe of tartan smocks, his 30p-an-hour job at the local sewing factory and the ongoing challenge of how to tie the perfect top-knot. And then there was his family, whose strange and often difficult behaviour he took for granted until, at the age of twenty-four, Sathnam made a discovery that changed everything he ever thought he knew about them. Equipped with breathtaking courage and a glorious sense of humour, he embarks on a journey into their extraordinary past - from his father's harsh life in rural Punjab to the steps of the Wolverhampton Tourist Office - trying to make sense of a life lived among secrets.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3437 KB
  • Print Length: 340 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (29 Nov. 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B009X0VGF6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 285 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #20,396 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


285 customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

12 November 2015
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
18 April 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
9 March 2014
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
15 March 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
16 February 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
20 February 2013
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
1 January 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 March 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover