Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
44
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2012
First of all, the author does seem to have done his research. For example, Arbury Banks, where the story begins, has been suggested by some scholars as a plausible site for Boudicca's last battle. It has not been excavated, but is known to be a late bronze-age site. This dates it back to PRE-Roman times. But there is evidence that it was still inhabited in the iron age, and it is located in a region where Boudicca's army would have had to march through to get back from St Albans to their tribal lands in Norfolk after they went on the rampage in Colchester. London and St. Albans.

The book throws up all the usual clichés: the major discovery, the villains trying to suppress it, the chase, the decipherment of clues, etc. But if one puts aside any high-brow standards and lofty expectations, this book is no worse than Dan Brown and will quite probably appeal to his fans. It is, when all is said and done, an adventure, not high literature - a guilty pleasure, but with little or no aftertaste.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
This book was a complete mixed bag for me, for several reasons. The history and the premise were incredibly interesting: the research was quite detailed and thorough. However, several errors in grammar, punctuation, improper word use and an over-use of recaps throughout the story both distracted from the plot and slowed the pacing.

The inclusion of the background history necessary to the story did bring a feel of a Dan Brown-style story, the man on the run story was intriguing, being hunted as he searches for clues to both clear his reputation and solve an ancient mystery had potential. Sadly, the presentation of information necessary to the reader either came in large doses that felt more like a lecture, or were presented in an after-the-event matter of fact way that just didn't aid the storytelling.

There are specific and particular benefits that all authors gain from cultivating a large and diverse group of beta readers, and in hiring copy editors. Both groups should have been utilized to take this story, in what I feel is rough form, and make it wonderful. Sadly, while I believe and feel that great pains were taken in researching, composing and creating the adventure, those positive points were offset by the unfinished feel to the whole book.

I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review for the Indies Rock promotion at I am, Indeed. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions were my own responsibility.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Enjoyed this immensely. Worth reading, especially with the Romano british link.

Only bad thing is it could have done with better editing! Missing verbs in some sentences, missing pronouns and prepositions, etc. Too many electronic books are being put out without full spell checks and editing. This is annoying for the flow of reading and is a cynical move of authors, who seem to think the reading public will accept anything sub standard. This is a plea for new authors who self publish - please do proper editing first!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
I so enjoyed this book! it has everything you want in a Blockbuster...action, thrills, danger and intellect! I won't pretend to know all the historic details but that did not deter me from really getting into this book. the author guides you through the story without making you feel you should know all the history and religious refrences...it's explained but not laboured over. this would make a really good film, I look forward to reading more from this talented writer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
The Boudicca Parchments opens with a tumultuous scene that takes place in ancient times. Who is involved and what they are fighting is left ambiguous, leaving the reader to wonder what happened. Flash forward several centuries. Martin Costa breaks into a dig site in search of artifacts he can sell and stumbles upon a historical document of great significance. He snaps a picture, sends it to Professor Daniel Klein, then turns up dead the next day.

Daniel, a language expert who specializes in ancient history, receives Costa's message and goes to meet him. When he arrives, he finds himself framed for Costa's murder. More than that, a group of Jewish fundamentalists want him dead. Rescued from an attempt on his life by an Israeli special operative, Sarit, Daniel races to learn the significance of Costa's discovery while evading the fundamentalists.

The Boudicca Parchments is an exciting conspiracy thriller reminiscent of Dan Brown's works. Part Robert Langdon, part Indiana Jones, Daniel Klein is a wonderful character who is easily likable. Also interesting are the primary villains, HaTzadik and Baruch Tivka, the two Jewish fundamentalists who will stop at nothing to prevent Daniel from uncovering the ancient truth. The Boudicca Parchments alternates between Daniel's perspective and that of his pursuers as the plot twists and turns on its way to its surprising conclusion.

Although The Boudicca Parchments is technically a sequel--the second of Palmer's series of Daniel Klein adventures--it works as a standalone book. The plot follows a chase format with historical revelations thrown in along the way. It speeds up in some areas, following the fundamentalists' nefarious plots, and slows down in others, giving the reader a chance to catch up on what Daniel knows.

While the action takes place in contemporary times, the mystery lies in the ancient past. Palmer has clearly done a lot of research on the subjects of Boudicca, the Celtic queen who led an uprising against the Romans, and the First Jewish-Roman war that took place in the first century. The background given to the reader on the subject--mostly through Daniel's explanations to other characters--present a fascinating take on ancient history. Palmer takes the known facts and draws his own connections, creating an alternate version of history with serious implications for the modern-day fundamentalists. Although the retelling of history is fictional, Palmer's version is believable in the context of the story and intriguing to read about.

Personally, I couldn't put this one down. I just had to know what the big secret was, and the answer was both clever and satisfying. The villains--the fundamentalists and their associate, the mysterious Sam Morgan--were as interesting as the good guys. The one criticism I have is that some places seemed to slow the pace a little too much, diverting the plot away from what I really wanted to know about. For instance, the parts about the investigation into Costa's murder or the parts about the Israeli secret agency. While these story lines are certainly relevant, I was impatient to know more about the people at the center of it all--Daniel and the fundamentalists.

All in all, The Boudicca Parchments is an entertaining rollercoaster ride of a book, one that keeps you guessing until the very end. Between the modern-day conspiracies and the historical elements, Palmer succeeds in creating a gripping and fascinating thriller.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I enjoyed this book very much. It features Daniel Klein, who appeared in the author's previous book, 'The Moses Legacy'. The plot centres on the discovery of a manuscript that links ancient Britain, Israel and Rome. The plot is very convincing, and the author writes very authoritatively about the various locations where the action takes place. all in all, it's an exciting read, which I recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
I sort of enjoyed this book. Sometimes it felt like more like a history book than a novel, but I will admit I did pick up information about Judaism I likely would never have known otherwise. The grammatical errors were irritating - every time wandered and wondered appeared they were in the wrong context, and feint for faint, they have completely different meanings! Anyway it fairly galloped along in a semi believable way, so good effort but must try harder next time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
Just finished reading The Boudicca Parchments. The story was a bit old hat but ok. My HUGE problem with it was the amount of spelling mistakes in the text! I found myself constantly correcting it as I went along. I think they should change their proof-reader as they must have just skimmed it and not read it from start to finish. Other than that, there was a fair amount of historical information which stopped me from giving up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
I had just finished his first book and enjoyed it so I bought this one straight after.
I'll get the bad stuff out the way first, if you read the previous book you will know the characters already and I understand that the author has to introduce them again for new readers but it seemed like whole chapters were copied and pasted from the first book, I know their back stories don't change but it was word for word and seemed a bit lazy, also there are a lot if mistakes and doesn't seem well proofed.
In spite of this, if you persevere it's a really good read with great action and likeable characters, it also provides some really interesting factual information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I like a challenging adventure mystery, without excessive detail of the violence, lurid sexual episodes or the, these days, mandatory profanities - in other words just a great story with believable interesting characters and a well developed story line. This book meets all those criteria - it was a pleasure to read and I would recommend it to all. You could hand it to a teenager without worrying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse