Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2008
I came across this series via the internet via the huey Freeman Christmas episode and thought it was rather funny, I then went to find all the other episodes on youtube (sorry, they ain't there anymore) and fell in love with this series.
To be honest, the great thing about this 1st series is the fact that each episode looks at an interesting aspect which Aaron McGruder percieves is part of African-American life. Whether it be "the nigga moment", the moment at which Black people get into a simplistic argument and it escalades into something worse, or the itis, a look at the diet of African American food which is extrememly fatty.
It can be enjoyed on many levels, theres animated fighting and moments of true sadness. its well written and the music is brilliant as well. A series which I would advise anyone to appreciate.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Searched high and low for a copy of this DVD that would play in Europe. Ordered as a Christmas present and it has not disappointed. Boondocks isn't for everyone, but if you like cutting edge comedy with a definite bite then this might be for you! It's hysterically funny, taking everyday situations, mocking them, adding to them and presenting them to you with a big dollop of truth, that after the mirth has ended- will leave you thinking...
DVD is in English but the credits on the actual sleeve are not, I know that some reviwers haven't liked this, but it doesn't matter to me- it's the content that counts and the Boondocks, in my opinion, are nothing short of a modern day comedy masterpiece. Well worth buying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
The Boondocks" is hilarious in certain areas. Characters like Grampa and Riley are fun to watch because that's what I really look for in an (adult) animated comedy series. Guest voices like Samuel L. Jackson and Adam West are also great addition to this production. This show is American, but drawn in an anime style that is sharp and captivating.

Adult Swim had introduce me to these two young boys because I'd never read the comics book and I read that those who had read the comics had stated the show is more vulgar than the strip. During the opening credits I was amazed to see Regina Kings name for the leading roles and that alone had me anxious to see it. The use of King voice actually works well with them. No such reservations about Witherspoon though, he fits Granddad like a glove and does really well with the character. Everyone seemed to do well in the first episode's supporting cast but really these main three are the ones that matter the most. My personal favorites (for now) are `The Itis,' `A Huey Freeman Christmas,' `The trail of R. Kelly,' `Wingman,' and `The Health Inspector.' The styles of humor and drama do change, sometimes radically, from episode to episode, so it may very well be possible for someone to love certain episodes and be unimpressed with another. Many folks are upset with the usage of the N* word and quite a few other references but Aaron McGruder is writing what he knows - and what many other African Americans know.

`The Boondocks' is a successful and entertaining comedy that has obviously embedded a specific style and presentation. Huey and Riley are two cute little kids that are opinionated, intelligent...and growing up with a foot in two worlds-which looks to stay that way. This show isn't for everyone and it's only meant for entertainment purposes. Looking forward for season two.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
really thought provoking show. adult humor, good animation and and good story. i know its not for every one as it has alot of swearing and racist comments but it has a reaon behind it
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
I absolutely love this show's sense of humour! Funniest show out there
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
This is the best of the post-Simpsons family cartoons to come out of the USA. Not because it is the funniest, though there are plenty of laugh out loud moments. It is the best because like Aaron McGruder's original strip cartoon, it deals with the usually unspoken, and terrible, issues of race, identity and power in the USA through wit, satire and farce rather than lugubrious political correctness. Martin Luther King's return to the contemporary (mid-2000s) world of apolitical hedonism - his 'dream' become a nightmare - is superbly done. So as you'd imagine from the subject matter Boondocks has been 'controversial'; in other words, people who tend to be offended by this type of thing have tended to find it offensive, and in the land of supposed freedom of speech, the right not to be offended acts as an awful censor. Nonetheless, seems to have survived the PC brigade's attempts to keep the unspeakable unsaid: good news.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
Okay so this ships from abroad and is Dutch but it plays fine on a multi-region/hacked DVD player.

Love this and still have a good giggle over the anal rape in prison scenes. The perfect illustration of the foundation of homophobia. :P
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
The amine is absolutely amazing, one of my favourites.It has very thought provoking views coming from the main character Huey, and it make you see things in a different light. It is also very funny
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
The boondocks is a cartoon spin off from a daily comic strip. It centrals around two african american kids - huey and riley - who were forced to move with their grandpa to a upper class, predominately white area - woodcrest.

The show introduces us to many hilarious characters, Huey is your typical paranoid conspiracy theorist, whilst riley is a gangster wannabe who idealises gangster rappers such as gangstalicious (who can't help but get shot...again) and r-kelly who loves giving golden showers.

Grandpa is the typical vitamin, workout, beat a child loving man of the house. Next door is tom dubois a district attorney terrified of anal rape and his wife and child jasmine. Uncle rukkus (no relation) is the white loving resident racist (who would slap you if told he was black , he has the opposite of what micheal jackson has).

The show introduces many more hilarious characters, and deals with such scenarios such as road rage and christmas. Much of the humour can be seen as outragious, but underneath all the swearing and racial slurs, is a genuine witty comedy, which plays on current stereotypic attitudes.

The animation is amazing, it borrows a lot from anime style, and often pays homage to anime and asian cinema.

This is a must see comedy, fans of family guy would lap this up.

go buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
For me, it is the best animated comedy series, I have ever seen in my life.
The creator Aaron Mcgruder is a genius,
I really like the idea of what the series is based on,
and already loved the books and at first I thought,
an animated series of the book,
could only be a total screw-up, but everything is just perfect.
You will beginn to love every Character, cause they all
have a great voice and animation, and every character has
a very cool and funny story.

For those who like this kind of sharp comedy, Buy It!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)