Buy Used
£2.29
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Book of Old Tarts Paperback – 2 Sep 2002

5.0 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
£29.99 £0.01
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



 get baking  get baking


Product details

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: Headline Book Publishing; New edition edition (2 Sept. 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 074723034X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747230342
  • Product Dimensions: 1.3 x 15.9 x 21 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 760,752 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

About the Author

Elizabeth Hodder is an established cookery writer with an interest in researching traditional recipes and in food preserving from medieval times. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 8 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Luscious but not louche, this would make a great Christmas present and conversation starter. It's a book by a cook who sounds as if she has been around the kitchen a few times: in the tradition of Claudia Roden, Hodder not only talks you through the recipe but provides scholarly excursions into its history and glimpses of her own philosophy of cooking. She writes with an engaging conviviality and none of the irritatingly contrived sensuality of la Grande Nigella. Her rich repertoire of recipes reminds us of how barren our traditonal culinary landscape has become, with native ingredients like elderflowers, gooseberries and walnuts supplanted by supermarket exotica.Try "Mucky Mouth Tart" or "Folkestone Pudding Pie". And for those who have always wanted to know the difference between a pie and a tart....tarts have bottoms. I should have guessed.
Comment 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on 1 Nov. 2004
Format: Paperback
This has to be one of my favorite cookbooks.For tarts it's streets ahead of anything else I've seen in print. Christmas, birthdays, parties and just 'something nice for lunch' days, this book has something for them all. My only comment would be take a close look at the instructions for shallow/deep flan tin (I've occasionally been caught out with too little filling) Please don't let it be out of print!
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A real treat. The book works through the ages with recipes in modern terminology, easy to follow and delicious. I put this book to use immediately, unlike some cookery books that rarely get opened, and so far the comments from friends and family have been full of praise.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
What an interesting little book. Full of tarty ideas with historical explanations. I would recommend buying secondhand books when they are no longer in print. This one was in really good nick and worth every penny.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback