Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2013
My original copy of this great book was a present from a girlfriend in 1982 - it's been used ever since but sadly has started to become unhinged. The cost of the book back in the day was £1.95 the cover price is now £25 - but bought from Amazon for £16 a bargain even allowing for price inflation. Nearly all of the original recipes are contained plus a feast of additional ones to caress the taste buds. The chapters are headed up with graytone water colours of various Middle Eastern sights and still sprinkled with endearing stories of a life that once was. You are not cooking unless you have this book - get surprised and enchanted.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
claudia roden's books are always a joy. if you love middle eastern food, her recipes are wide ranging and reliable as well as being delicious. not only are the recipes temptin g but the history of the whole middle east is there, both informative and atmospheric.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Apart from the fantastic recipes this is a really interesting book. It is full of little stories and ancient middle-eastern tales. I have spent ages reading through it, almost like a novel. I love it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Replaced the old copy of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2016
wonderful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2002
I have always been a fan of Claudia Roden's books but this is her best yet. The background text is fascinating and the recipes are always reliable, which is not always the case with this type of book. I was a bit dubious about buying a cookery book without any photographs of the food, but quite honestly it doesn't need them - the descriptions are more than enough to give a picture of how it should look. It is the most used book in my kitchen and never fails to inspire me when I'm having trouble deciding what to cook. If you only buy one Middle Eastern cookery book, make sure it is this one.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2000
This cookbook celebrates the culinary diversity of the Middle East with a wealth of traditional recipes from many countries. The author's enthusiasm for the dishes she describes is evident throughout, and the recipes span the spectrum from everyday meals to more elaborate preparations for holidays and special occasions. Most of the ingredients are readily available, and the food is nutritious, flavorful, and economical. Whether you are an experienced cook or only a beginner, this book has something for you.
Also recommended: "Recipes and Remembrances from an Eastern Mediterranean Kitchen: A Culinary Journey through Syria, Lebanon, and Jordan," by Sonia Uvezian. This seminal work captures the essence of the region's traditional foods in hundreds of distinctive recipes interspersed with superlative cultural and culinary background material, including unparalleled information on ingredients and utensils.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
So disappointed with this book. I anticipated mention of Israel since it's in the Middle East but there was nothing. There were a few mentions of Jewish recipes and traditions. There was also a real shortage of vegetarian recipes. Even in the vegetable section meat was included. I did enjoy the little tales. Sadly, I've only bookmarked 5 recipes I want to try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
What a great cookbook! It's not like one of those new cookbooks full of fancy images but it's "oldschool"- full of tasty recipes (it also contains some nice images). The book is full of easy to follow recipes that produce utterly delicious food. Highly recommended to everybody!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2002
...make it this one. The recipes easy to follow, and Roden's writing style is peppered with amusing anecdotes about her childhood in Egypt and historical information that make this book a good read outside the kitchen as well as in.
Whereas many Middle Eastern cookbooks leave out ingredients (presumably to make the dishes seem less scary to Western palates), Roden's recipes are authentic. Many include alternate suggestions and regional variations from family recipes submitted by her friends and readers from across the region, so chances are you'll always have the proper ingredients to hand.
I cook from this regularly, both for everyday meals and special occasions (the appetiser section has loads of dishes that are great for parties). Middle Eastern cooking seems to be designed to make expensive ingredients like meat go a long way, and (although they're not flagged as such) there's some great recipes here if you're on a tight budget.
In other words...absolutely essential.
0Comment| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)