Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12

on 18 March 2017
Our favourite crossword compiler. Sadly no longer with us so appreciate the books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2009
These puzzles are awful mental torture, made worse by the tantalizing fact that the pain can be relieved by sneaking a look at the solutions, AKA cheating. Clues are not numbered: the answers have to be fitted jigsaw-wise in the grid by deduction. The earlier grids have a few letters pre-filled in to ward off utter despair. Later ones have letters around the periphery, but you have to solve elaborate cryptic clues to get them. The grid clues themselves never cease to amaze me with their ingenuity and originality. However, if you're a beginner, forget it! These puzzles are for mighty intellects like what I have got.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2010
I've bought Chambers Araucaria Volume 3. These are literary-themed crosswords, many of them alphabet jigsaws. You will need some web research and a dictionary of quotations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2010
Very challenging if you are used to straightforward cryptics - different formats and keys to solving...nice change
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
Magnificent.
Buy two and out the spare one away for years till you have forgotten all the answers no he is no longer with us to provide more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2012
I have been solving - or attempting to solve - this gentleman's puzzles for about 30 years. He brings a lot of fun to his puzzles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2013
My last chance to solve the Reverend's puzzles. These are challenging, more so than his usual ones and very inventive in style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
Hard enough without the puzzle grid for Perimetrical 54 not matching the solution grid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2016
Fiendishly difficult but very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2015
Araucaria is always the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)