Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.49

Save £1.33 (23%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Bone Sparrow: shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017 by [Fraillon, Zana]
Kindle App Ad

The Bone Sparrow: shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017 Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£4.49

Length: 236 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

"A special book." "Morris Gleitzman, author of Once""

""The Bone Sparrow" is a book you'll feel in your chest long after you finish. It's about stories that ache to be told, and the transformational power of sharing them. Though Subhi's journey is confined by fences, he finds magic and great injustice, tragedy and courage-and ultimately, wings." "Kirsten Hubbard, author of Watch the Sky and Race the Night""

"A special book." Morris Gleitzman, author of Once"

"An author worth watching." Kirkus Reviews"

"Thought-provoking and affecting... Hand to readers who appreciated Linda Sue Park's A Long Walk to Water."--School Library Journal

"A special book."--Morris Gleitzman, author of Once

"Zana Fraillon's powerful and poetic tale of friendship in the face of injustice will fly away with your heart."--Katherine Marsh, Edgar Award-winning author of The Night Tourist

* "Fraillon crafts a harrowing vision of life in the detention center, yet Subhi finds solace in sensitively portrayed friendships with a rebellious older boy, a compassionate guard, and an intrepid girl named Jimmie While addressing themes of loss, desperation, and injustice in an all-too-relevant setting, Fraillon's resonant novel underscores the healing power of story."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"The Bone Sparrow is a book you'll feel in your chest long after you finish. It's about stories that ache to be told, and the transformational power of sharing them. Though Subhi's journey is confined by fences, he finds magic and great injustice, tragedy and courage-and ultimately, wings."--Kirsten Hubbard, author of Watch the Sky and Race the Night

"An author worth watching."--Kirkus Reviews

Book Description

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.

Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. A deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3670 KB
  • Print Length: 236 pages
  • Publisher: Orion Children's Books (14 July 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01ARXVT5O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #58,655 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

16 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
11 October 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
15 December 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
23 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
19 October 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
18 October 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
24 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
11 January 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?