Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2003
Avid is hysterical.
His sketch of Micheal Jackson mixed with a perfect ozzy osbourne impression is one of the funniest moments in television history.
This first series may be far too crude for some viewers but for others it will become a favourite.
Jokes are plenty and Craig David as a falkener who wets himself is billiantly concieved.
Well worth buying for fans of any "off the wall" comedy!
brilliant.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2003
Bringing to life one of the freshest and funniest TV comedy programs to hit UK TV screens since the likes of the now rather stale Ali-G, Bo Selecta! is a spitting image for the 21st century. Some of the impressions aren't 'top notch'; or as a friend put it, upto Alistair McGowan's standards - Bo Selecta! focuses more one the side splittingly funny comedy writing and grossly eggagerated costumes and facial masks.
Early hints lead us to Expect to see Avid Merrion upto his usual tricks along with other backstage clips and trailers and TV shorts. The DVD also contains a stunning array of extras including; Craig David's Life Story, Outtakes, Trailers, Avid's Picture Gallery and a huge number of deleted scenes.
So all in all, this is a must for fnas of British Comedy and of course, die-hard Bo Selecta fans alike...
Happy Shopping...
Bo!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2003
Bo Selecta is a brilliantly modern adult themed comedy show starring the extremely talented and funny man Avid Merrion. All the characters in the show are depicted by Avid wearing a latex mask of that person. Everyone also wears thick rimmed spectacles! This is a must see video that will have you rolling around on the floor! It's probably the best modern day comedy show on the planet, well done Avid 10/10 Fantastic, Buy It!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2003
After seeing the short but massively funny trailers for BB3 including Avid Merrion, I was introduced to Bo' Selecta by a friend. At first glance I thought that this series would be a series of random sketches with no substance whatsoever.
How wrong was I! This is NOT an impressions show believe me! Don't expect a charicature of the celebrities shown; expect a complete redesign or twist of their personalities. The targeted celebrities range from Craaaaig David, with his pet peregrine falcon 'Kez' and emergency p*ss bag (say 'Proper Bo I tell thee' to any Bo' Selecta fan and you'll have them in stitches!) to Enrique Iglesias' mole, to Mel B; scary spice in every possible way!
These sketches are then accompanied to some brilliantly conceived original characters: the Bear, a very naughty little cuddly bear who shocks real celebrities with his 'tail' popping out (watch the one with Liberty X, it's hilarious!) and of course Avid, the stalker (or 'superfan' as he puts it) of Celabrities (no that's not a typo there) who keeps 'the Craig from Big Brother' in his cupboard. Avid's trips out into the world of celabrities ends up with hilarious consequences, himself being pretty unheard of at the time, shocking all involved with his outbursts - 'she makes me do a sex-wee'.
Obviously a show this strange and off-the-wall will not be a massive hit with everyone. In many scenes it is just plain vulgar, which makes you almost feel guilty for laughing your head off (the Michael Jackson/Jackass scene - 'Omlette for your G' is particularly revolting). I would suggest having a peek at it on TV before buying the DVD as it is definitely a love-hate kind of show.
The extras on the DVD are great, there are absolutely loads of features: 'Bloop Selecta' there is only one bloop (Mel B towards the end) where Leigh Francis actually breaks character! 'Deleted Scenes' 'Craig David's Life Story' and more. There is also a very well hidden extra that I actually found by accident; if you wait for the Bear to speak while on the DVD main menu and then quickly move the cursor to him, there is a very special scene involving a brand new, non-masked Leigh Francis character named Keith Lemon, who goes on a set up blind date with Tess Daly - the results are absolutely side-splitting.
I cannot recommend this DVD more, it truly is a great step for British comedy, which is rapidly slipping into the realms of unfunny sitcoms. Watch with an open mind and let yourself be sucked in - it seems wrong at first but you know you want to!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2003
Both series of Bo Selecta have been a triumph. It appears to polarise opinion, with many people delighted, repeating catchphrases and not being able to get enough of the comedy shenanighans, and other people resolutely saying 'I just don't get it'. If you liked it, you'll love the DVD releases.
The only thing that bothers me is that, by bringing out a Series 1&2 boxset at a bargain price at the same time as bringing out Series 2, it is a reward for those who waited and did not go out and buy the first series. While it costs us another £14.99 to complete the pair, they now offer the chance to buy both for a few quid more. They could have waited...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2003
Avid Merrion, the celebrity stalker, presents the first series of Bo' Selecta. Pure Genius.
All the characters are side-splittingly funny, ranging from the grim Northern Mel B, looking for a good fook to Michael Jackson, checkin' his bad self, chamon!
The brilliance of Craig David as a Northener, Davina McCall as the pregnant, frantic, swearing Big Brother presenter and the sheer filth churned out by the bear add up to some top quality entertainment.
All I can say is that 'It's proper bo, I tell thee!'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
This is one of the best TV series I've ever seen. Well worth buying. This is just my opinion, but its not half as embarrasing as The Office, and it's much funnier. Somehow, however, I wouldn't reccomend it to viewers of more intelligent comedies. Some of the extra features on the second series DVD are a bit unfunny though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2003
Although slightly overshadowed by the second series, the first series of Bo' Selecta! is still an essential purchase. It introduces us to Avid Merrion and his crazy world of celebrity, and is unlike anything before it.
Michael Jackson brings us a tour of his "crib" and stars in a bunch of hilarious Jackass-style stunts with his lovely assistant Bubbles (replaced in the series 2 by the less lovely, but funnier Martin Bashir), while Craiiig David takes us through a typical seven days, as well as day trips out to places such as a bird sancutary, and his home town Morely in Leeds.
The majority of characters, such as Mel B ("...better known as Scary Spice!"), Will Young and Gareth Gates, will have you crying with laughter, while others like David Blaine and Geri Haliwell are funny in their own unique way.
The show won't be to everyone's tastes though, as it is vulgar and some may find it offensive, but if you have an open mind, then go for it. It's proper bo, I tell thee.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
One of the wackiest and funniest comedy shows ever. A bizzare and surreal universe of minor celebrity mixed with adolescent fantasy and sexual desire. Avid's, or is it Leigh's versatility and skill in playing the various parts is incredible. The show is a great leveller of our new religion of adoration of all things celebrity. It is worth buying, if for nothing else, for the 'Jacksons' title montage a la Osbornes, which is hysterically funny and pure genius.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
"I love all thingsh that are of the shelabritiesh!" (roughly translated as 'celebrities'). When this show hit our screens we saw the trailers, and thought "yes." then we saw the show, and thought "YES!". Leigh Francis' comic creations Avid Merrion, The Bear, and the masked celebs, namely Craaaaaaaig David (said in sing song voice) make this a show that wont go away!
Dont just buy it.. LOVE IT!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)