£14.05 + £1.26 delivery
Only 4 left in stock. Sold by uniqueplace-uk
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Round3 UK
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
+ £2.99 delivery
Sold by: inandout-distribution
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Blueprint - The Best Of 808 State

Collector's Edition

Extra Tracks, Remastered

4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

Price: £14.05
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording remastered, Collector's Edition, 19 Sep 2011
£14.05 £10.98
Only 4 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by uniqueplace-uk.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Amazon's 808 State Store

Frequently bought together

  • Blueprint - The Best Of 808 State
  • +
  • Ex:el with archive material
  • +
  • Gorgeous
Total price: £39.81
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (19 Sept. 2011)
  • Collector's Edition edition
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Original recording remastered, Collector's Edition, Extra tracks
  • Label: Union Square Music Limited
  • ASIN: B005D6T0ZW
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 77,173 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Flow Coma (AFX remix by Aphex Twin)
  2. Pacific State (origin)
  3. In Yer Face (revisited)
  4. Cübik (Monkey Mafia Mix)
  5. Timebomb (808 Tape Mix)
  6. Cobra Bora (revisited)
  7. Olympic (Word Production Mix)
  8. Nimbus (revisited)
  9. Nephatiti
  10. Firecracker (edit)
  11. Plan 9 (radio edit by Trevor Horn)
  12. Lopez featuring James Dean Bradfield (Radio Mix by Brian Eno)
  13. Lemonsoul featuring Guy Garvey
  14. Qmart featuring Björk
  15. 606 featuring Simian (revisited)
  16. Spanish Ice
  17. Metaluna/Compulsion (revisited)

Product description

Product Description

•    The definitive ‘Best Of’ from one of the great British dance acts

•    Covers over 20 years of cutting edge music from their first (late 80s) releases to date

•    Includes the Top Ten singles Pacific State, In Yer Face and Cübik  and nine previously unavailable recordings

•    Rare remixes by Aphex Twin, Monkey Mafia and Brian Eno, plus vocal contributions from James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers),  Guy Garvey (Elbow) and Björk

•    Digitally remastered by Fine Splice for the finest sound quality

•    Deluxe digipack comes with full colour 20-page booklet containing detailed history of 808 State from comprehensive interviews with the group members

808 State are... ‘masters of their art’ (Q), ‘pioneers’ (Future Music), ‘for sonic trailblazing and inestimable influence, among our most important groups’ (Record Collector) and ‘Godfathers’ (Nude), who ‘sketched the blueprint for British techno as we know it’ (Mixmag).

Indisputably one of the most important UK acts of the late 80s and 90s dance music explosion, 808 State’s influence will reverberate in the genre for years to come. They were that particularly rare beast: an accomplished singles outfit that was also taken very seriously as an albums act.

Salvo takes great pride in presenting their “Greatest Bits”, from 1988 to the present day. The very best of the psychoecstatic, trance-inducing, groove-riding, techno-funkalogical sound of 808 State!

BBC Review

It's impossible to underplay the importance of 808 State. Arriving at a time when acid house was starting to infiltrate the hipper enclaves of UK clubland, the original trio of Graham Massey, Martin Price and Gerald Simpson took the hard sound of Chicago house and lashed it to industrial grooves and experimental music. Late-80s floor-fillers like Flow Coma and Pacific State were hugely influential on a new generation of techno-heads, chief among them Aphex Twin, Autechre and Orbital.

Indeed, it's Aphex Twin's 2001 remix of Flow Coma that kicks off this terrific retrospective. A star-stuffed one it is too, including collaborations with Brian Eno, Bj�rk, Simian, James Dean Bradfield, Guy Garvey and onetime ZTT labelmate, Trevor Horn. What's particularly fascinating is just how far ahead of the curve 808 State clearly were. Sharp-edged rave classics like C�bik and In Yer Face pre-date the whole superstar DJ/superclub boom of the 90s. But by the time The Chemical Brothers and Cream had become steady fixtures on the new dance scene, 808 State were already moving away from the kinetic thump of techno-funk and were investing the music with more tranquil, ambient tones. Theirs was music for both mind and feet, highlighted here by the luminous Bj�rk set-to, Qmart. And those still lamenting the demise of 90s yoof-TV Friday-nighter The Word (look, you never know) will be buoyed by the appearance of Olympic, its theme tune.

The latter is one of several exclusive (re)mixes on this set. Others given a fresh facelift are C�bik (Monkey Mafia), Plan 9 (Trevor Horn) and the "808 tape mix" of the wonderful Timebomb. The weird'n'glitchy stuff still sounds great (especially a revamped 606, with Simian) but Guy Garvey's turn on Lemonsoul proves they were always capable of delivering a swoonsome mood piece. Avid followers will be especially intrigued by two spanking new arrivals: Spanish Ice and Metaluna. The latter brings everything around full circle by smartly segueing into Compulsion, the closing track on 1988 debut LP Newbuild.

It's testament to 808 State's lasting excellence that there's no room here for Lift, Open Your Mind or Ooops. Nor is there space for hi-calibre guests like Ian McCulloch, Bernard Sumner or Lou Rhodes. "808 State will return," claim the liner notes. In the meantime this'll do very nicely.

--Rob Hughes

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

24 customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

27 September 2011
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 October 2011
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
7 June 2018
Verified Purchase
6 November 2011
Verified Purchase
9 August 2018
Verified Purchase
18 September 2016
Verified Purchase
3 November 2015
Verified Purchase
29 December 2014
Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?