Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 July 2015
Four stars for this book reason for that is I really enjoyed this story line once I got into it will recommend to friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 December 2014
Sara Blædel's second crime novel (and the first one to be translated into English) about detective Louise Rick is a grim story about net dating that goes terribly wrong.

The Copenhagen police are notified of a violent rape where the woman met her apparently charming and attentive suitor on the Internet. The identity of the rapist cannot be traced but it turns out that he has previously used the same method and left deeply traumatised women in his wake. After yet another rape where the young victim choked to death on her own vomit, the police intensify their investigation and Louise Rick must play a dangerous game and use untraditional methods to get close to the dangerous perpetrator.

This is an exciting and very well-written book in a straight forward language that flows so well that it is hard to stop. The combination of traditional police work with Louise's private life is really well done and her sometimes complicated friendship with journalist Camilla Lind is also portrayed very realistically throughout the series - which, by the way, gets better and better for every installment.

There are now 9 books in the series:

1/ Grønt støv (Green dust)
2/ Kald mig princesse (Call me princess/ Blue Blood)
3/ Kun et liv (Only one life)
4/ Aldrig mere fri (Farewell to freedom)
5/ Hævnens gudinde (Vengeance goddess/ Goddess of revenge)
6/ Dødsenglen (Angel of death)
7/ De glemte piger (The forgotten girls)
8/ Dødesporet (The Death Track)
9/ Kvinden de meldte savnet (The woman reported missing)

It is not necessary to read them in order, but I would recommend starting from the beginning to get the full backstory as her personal life is always part of the story.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 May 2014
Blue Blood (also titled Call Me Princess) is the second book in the Louise Rick/Camilla Lind series by popular Danish novelist, Sara Blaedel. It is the first book in the series to be translated into English. When Assistant Detective Louise Rick is called to the hospital to talk to Susanna Hansson, the victim of a brutal rape, she is met with some reluctance to reveal all the pertinent facts. When she eventually establishes that Susanna first met her attacker online, Copenhagen’s police force is mobilised to track the perpetrator down. But before much headway is made, the rapist strikes again, and this time, the victim dies. Rick’s friend and Morgenavisen crime journalist, Camilla Lind is hoping for headlines, but her personal use of online dating is more of an issue for Louise. Rick’s focus on the case is also distracted by tensions with her boyfriend. This enthralling crime novel touches on the topical issues of online dating, the aftermath of sexual assault and sexual discrimination in the police force. The plot is gripping, with a few twists and several exciting climaxes, but the execution is sometimes a little clumsy and somewhat tedious in its excessive detail. The translation by Erik J. Macki and Tara F. Chase is generally satisfactory, although some parts are rather clunky. As the main protagonist, Louise Rick is a flawed and occasionally quite abrasive, but nonetheless genuine character, and it will be interesting to see what Blaedel has in store for Louise and Camilla in future instalments. Not a breathless page-turner, but still quite a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2012
Sara Blaedel is one of the most highly rated and bestselling crime writers in Denmark, which means that her work is not only going to have to distinguish itself from the shelves filled with Scandinavian crime fiction, but with a strong female cop as the protagonist in her books, expectations are going to be raised and comparisons made to The Killing. Blue Blood - published previously as Call Me Princess - and Detective Inspector Louise Rick, dealing with a case that is less sensationalised and rather more straightforward as a police procedural, can't really live up to such expectations, but there are other aspects that make this a good solid thriller, and one that delves into some interesting areas.

That area of interest is the whole area of on-line dating and the dangers associated with rape. In Blue Blood, a number of women have been tied up and brutally beaten while having consensual sex with a man they met on internet chat-rooms. Using aliases associated with nobility, he manages to appeal to a certain type of woman looking to for a man of old-fashioned charm and sophistication, but what develops in the bedroom is far from what the women expect. Inspector Louise Rick realises that not only are the boundaries blurred when it comes to the whole etiquette of on-line dating, but that there is a whole night-life subculture out there in Copenhagen that she is completely unaware of, and it's one that presents a particular challenge to the police.

There's nothing particularly to distinguish Sara Blaedel's female police detective from many others - Rick's dedication to her job taking its toll on her own personal relationships, her association with the press being a complicated one on account of her best friend being a journalist interested in the case - and Blaedel's detailing of the procedural issues and investigation techniques relating to rape cases is fairly straightforward, meticulous and realistic. There's real consideration for the impact of rape on its victims and Louise Rick has to juggle the sensitivity of the case and the feelings of the victims with how the crimes are reported by the press, needing to warn the public of the dangers and gain their assistance in finding the rapist.

What Blaedel does well in Blue Blood however is manage to maintain the pace and tension of the investigation alongside the crime procedural without getting bogged down in technicalities, or indeed without resorting to sensationalised writing. There are a few aspects that inevitably make the case more personal for DI Rick which are more than a little coincidental, but by and large, Blue Blood handles the difficult issues raised here very well, offering an intriguing insight not only into the dangers of on-line dating and rape, but also the difficulties faced by any police force now dealing with crime involving the anonymity of social media.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2013
Louise Rick investigates a series of brutal rapes perpetrated by an online predator who targets a specific type of woman. The book is a gripping read as long as the procedures are described and followed from discovery of the first victim in the book, Susanne. The investigation and the procedures are portrayed in vivid technicolor compared to the personal life of the DI whose relationship breaks down during the course of the investigation. Her relations with the Susanne and eventually the perpetrator are much more vivid than any others in the story, including even her close friend, the journalist, Camilla.

I don't know whether this book is the first in the series. It is the first of hers that I have seen in the UK. I would like to read more. But beware - this book, Blue Blood, is also released in the US under the title, Call me princess. I believe a second book entitled Only One Life was published also in the US.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2012
WARNING - This ebook has been issued in the UK as BLUE BLOOD from December 2012 and will also be available in the UK in paperback using this title in spring 2013. This is the same story as CALL ME PRINCESS (US title originally published in 2011). If you have read or bought CALL ME PRINCESS, please avoid the UK version (BLUE BLOOD).

This is the first novel of Sara Blædel featuring her detective Louise Rick to be translated into English. Blue Blood (UK title) / Call Me Princess (US title) (original title Kald mig prinsesse) was originally published in it's native Denmark in 2005 and is the second in the ongoing series involving Louise. Other, as yet untranslated titles include -
1. Green Dust (Grønt støv 2004)
3. Only One Life (Kun ét liv 2007)
4. Never Free Again (Aldrig mere fri 2008)
5. Goddess of Revenge (Hævnens Gudinde 2009)
6. Angel of Death (Dødsenglen 2010)

The story involves around online dating and the search for a serial rapist who is selecting his victims through an online dating service. Louise's partner, best friend Camilla and her son also feature in the story and add a bit of background to Louise. The novel is a fairly easy read and makes me keen to read her next in the series.
Although based in Copenhagen, the book could be set in any mid-sized / large city. There is little in the book to suggest that the book is particularly Danish.
2011 has provided us with a wealth of Danish crime fiction with BBC's hit import The Killing [DVD] [2010], Jussi Adler-Olsen's Mercy and Sissel-Jo Gazan's The Dinosaur Feather. Later in 2011 two further Danish authors add to the smörgåsbord - Lene Kaaberbøl's Boy in the Suitcase, The (Nina Borg Mysteries) and Mikkel Birkegaard's Death Sentence.
Call Me Princess is translated into American English - which I find slightly offputting as when I read "downtown precinct" and otehr Americanisms, I tended to forget that the book was set in Denmark. Only until a page or so later when a Danish street name would appear.

Roll on the next one please Sara!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2014
This is the second book I have read in the series and I will be reading the rest. I'm obsessed with Nordic crime fiction and this is the first Danish writer I have really liked. Just about to buy the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2014
This story started so well but ultimately I was left feeling let down by what I perceived as strange decisions/reasonings made by the main character. Too much left unresolved at the conclusion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2014
A great read. Couldn't put the book down. First thriller of her's I have read.Will definitely be reading more.Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2013
I enjoyed this book very much and look forward to reading more from this author new to me. Couldn't put the book down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse