Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
Blue-Bell Knoll
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£29.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 October 2003
Years ago I was listening to the radio and I heard a fantastic song, but did not catch who it was by. A couple of weeks ago I was in Philadelphia on business and wandered into a CD shop which allowed you to listen to any CD by scanning the barcode. At random I picked up Blue Bell Knoll because the cover was interesting - scanned the barcode, put on the headphones - and wow! The most fantastic and indescribable music ever! And there was THAT song - Cico Buff.
I have since listened to this album about 30 times, and I have rapidly also bought Heaven or Las Vegas, Treasure, Four Calendar Cafe, Milk and Kisses, and Head over Heels.
I love them all - but the best are Blue Bell Knoll and Heaven or Las Vegas - on those,every song is different, every one is a classic and I can't get enough of them!
Superb melodies, fabulous singing, wonderful guitar, it just sweeps you away to somewhere wonderful. Buy it!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2000
True Cocteau Twins at their best - sit back into your comfy chair and drift off into the woods! The whole CD entrances you with their unique melodies and hypnotises you into swirl of Cocteau fantasy. Add this one to your collection and play it for dinner, while your in the bath, on Sunday morning, or when ever!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2017
An underated gem in the Twins back catalogue. By this mid phase of their career their sound has been well honed, but is still brimming with invention and atmosphere. In retrospect you can see that they were refining and simplifying their sound til it reaches Heaven & Las Vegas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2009
what can i say about this-best i explain -i borrowed this and once i heard it my musical tastes changed forever-it was like the music i would expect to hear in heaven [circa 1988] but it sounds fresh still-its easy to just play this over and over for yrs and yrs-well i did haha -not so sure if its still my fav all time album-certainly the cocteaus are my fav band-there music and some of liz frasers solo stuff and collaberations are just uniquely beautiful-she is my fav singer ever-from terdrop with massive attack and song to the siren with this mortal coil to almost every single song the coctaeus wrote-minus their first album[circa 1982]this was the first whole album i heard by them -but i had loved and owned a few songs prior to this ie-sugar hiccup and ivo -so this album has a virtually unique place in my life-i would say along with joy divisions closer and the beatles abbey road and nick drakes pink moon -but this band and joy division can change your life forever-as once u get into that groove the cocteaus groove or joy divisions groove it can be hard to listen to or like anything else-anyway the cocteaus are amazing and maybe 7 albums of theirs are must haves for everyone reading this-and why not start with this album as i did in 1988-if not this album the other stand out classic album thats easy to like and rock solid is treasure of course from 1985 -i still wonder how such beautiful music could be concieved,written or recorded by mere humans-as this band kick started a whle genre and inspired many bands-like portishead and i have read that led zeps robert plant and many other heroes of mine are all besotted with the heavenly-super human sounds of the cocteaus--the robin guthrie synthesised guitars are so beautiful but its liz frasiers vocals that are irresistable and anything she sings sounds beautiful-like many men i have loved liz for decades-but its not her face or body i lust after its her voice-once u have heard it you will realise what i mean-carolyns fingers was/is my fav on this album-their music is very simple but sounds so sophisticated -so as i said if u dont have any cocteaus buy this or treasure or both
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2013
This is an absolutely beautiful album that sounds as fresh as a daisy 25 years or so after its release. With 'Victorialand', for me, it embodies the mid-phase of their impressive career. 'Treasure' arguably marks the end of their 'post punk' era whilst 'Heaven or Las Vegas' heralds a bid for commercial success. In between lie 'Victorialand' and this perfect confection of ethereal bliss, with just enough edge to stop it becoming sickly sweet.
Close to perfection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
Always a fan of the Cocteau Twins, having not listened to their music since the mid 90`s, i purchased this download - which i used to have as a cassette! - because of nostalgia. The Cocteau twins music is brilliant - i seriously recommend it to anyone wishing to find a new and unusual sound - Elizabeth Frazer`s vocal make every single track unique, and the sometiomes hard edge of indie "rock" (i hate that word, but nothing describes it better)

Best ever song: Carolyn`s fingers (Bluebell Knoll)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2000
An album of sheer beauty and calm. From the gothick thrill of the title track to the driving bass refrain of Carolyn's Fingers and the chilled bliss of Cico Buff this album is packed with Magic Moments. It takes a lot to compete with Head over Heels but this is pretty close.
If you don't own this record your life will be poorer - right enough, you'll never know why, but why take the risk? Go on, you deserve it.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2004
A much more focused set and all the better for it. Giving free reign to their inate pop sensibilities, the Twins produced their most glacial and luxurious music on 'Blue Bell Knoll'. You'll know 'Carolyn's Fingers' and 'Cico Buff' from TV adverts. The title track is a compact epic and 'For Phoebe' will simply melt your heart.
The sound of spring flowers pushing their way up through the ice and snow.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2010
a masterpiece of an album!!!!!
you must be into the cocteau twins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2003
This was the Cocteau Twins at the peak of their performance. They rarely were better after the release of this beautiful album in 1988. This is perfect. If you're not a regular listener to this band, this is good place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)