Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 June 2017
Got about 20% in when I realised that the story was familiar, really very familiar... This is The Outlaw Josey Wales with swords. I mean, it's the same, practically scene by scene. Lost interest then and didn't finish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
A good story, well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
It's not a bad book - plenty of action and reasonably descriptive - but Wow, it's a barefaced theft of 'The Outlaw Josey Wales'. Farmer has family slaughtered by irregular unit in civil war. Joins the losing side and fights for a few years. His group turn themselves in for an amnesty offer, but he decides to fight on. They're betrayed and slaughtered and the hero fights his way into the camp, takes revenge and becomes a hunted fugitive. Escapes by crossing a ferry and cutting the rope....

Come on, it's practically the screenplay from Josey Wales - I'd be embarrassed to write it and pretend it was original.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
For too long fantasy was the same old tired formula, until Tony Healey came along and shook it up. He gave the genre a sense of reality and consequence, made it truer, if you will. A great read, Joe Abercrombie watch out!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Rowan Black is a family man; a farmer living a simple life. At least he was until he arrived home late and beheld the nightmare scene before him. Try as he may, he was unable to stop the outcome.

With nothing left, he sets out on a quest - an all consuming journey of revenge. The Bloody North is the story of that journey and the people he meets on the way.

One of those he meets is Mr Crowstone. Mr Crowstone is a goodly sort, a mystic with a special pet, Kip. Together they add a little comedy to this dark tale and I really hope both he and Kip continue to appear in this fantasy series by Mr Healey.

I thoroughly enjoyed this, the first book in the Fallen Crown series, and look forward to Book 2, which I believe is titled The Rising Fire.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
It's not badly written but for the first half I couldn't but liken it's plot to the Clint Eastwood film "The Outlaw Josey Wales" which didn't make it bad but mean't I felt I knew everything that was going to happen. Second half of the book got better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I am not sure what sort of books the other reviewers are into but i found this book very weak compared to other books i normally ready. the Hero's suffering is very one dimensional and i found it very tedious to keep reading the same description every few pages its nothing like what Abercombie does to his twisted Hero's.

there is lots of action but but i didn't find it that engaging like a fight scene written by Sanderson or Miles Cameron. even the world is very vague.

the only plus side i saw was that the world has plenty of potential, but i doubt i will be paying for the second book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Very turgid, I couldnt get past the first couple of chapters before I gave up. I thought it a very tired reworking of not very interesting ideas from many other books. Perhaps I have read too much of this sort of thing and its no longer fresh.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2014
Main character was likeable. Good potential for future instalments. Story seemed abruptly cut off. not enough things happened. Secondary characters mostly undeveloped. Will suit people who like joe Abercrombie. And who doesn't?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
Its far far too short but has the potential of being a good tale hence the benefit of the doubt positive rating. I expected the next book to be available due the shortness of book 1 but this does not seem to be the case. The author should have delayed this release of book1until he had written a decent a Amount. Was it worth the 99 pence price? Yes I guess so, I left this story feeling disappointed as everything is a bit "thin" on detail and depth, meaning both characters and plot but there are hints that this could be good?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse