Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £5.00 (50%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Blooding by [McGee, James]
Kindle App Ad

The Blooding Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 81 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£4.99

Length: 497 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

Praise for James McGee:

***** Nominated for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger Award 2015 *****• 'Irresistible… rambunctious entertainment' Observer

• 'Rumbustious…a darkly attractive hero, terrific period atmosphere and action' The Times

• 'Atmospheric and well researched… try it' Daily Mirror

• ‘Breakneck pace, brutal action, clever characterisation and twisty plotting …' Reginald Hill

• ‘Ratcatcher is a richly enjoyable and impressively researched novel – also very gripping. James McGee is clearly a rising star in the historical galaxy and I look forward to Hawkwood's return' Andrew Taylor, author of The American Boy

"Balancing moments of poignancy with swashbuckling action, historical interest, powerful suspense and wry wit, McGee delivers all the delights of a classic adventure story." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"…this adventure is not for the fainthearted. Fast paced and filled with atmospheric setting and period details of pioneers, militias, and Huron and Mohawk warriors, this gripping tale rivals Eliot Pattison’s Bone Rattler series and Cooper’s Leatherstocking Tales." BOOKLIST

Book Description

Hawkwood’s in America for this gripping, action-packed follow up to the bestselling Ratcatcher - for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Igulden and Patrick O’Brianv
1812: Matthew Hawkwood, soldier turned spy, is stranded behind enemy lines, in America, a country at war with Britain.Heading for the safety of the Canadian border, Hawkwood’s route takes him to Albany where the chance sighting of a former comrade-in-arms – Major Douglas Lawrence – within a consignment of British prisoners puts paid to his plans.For as the two men make their escape they uncover an American plot to invade Canada. If it is successful, the entire continent will be lost. The British authorities must be warned.Pursued by a relentless enemy, Hawkwood and Lawrence set off across the snow-bound Adirondack Mountains; the land the Iroquois call ‘The Hunting Grounds’.But they are not alone.Buried deep in Hawkwood’s past is an old alliance – one that could save both their lives and help turn the tide of war…

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2197 KB
  • Print Length: 497 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (3 July 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B006UN3RMO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 81 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #147,935 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

19 October 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICE
18 August 2014
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
26 November 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
25 November 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
30 September 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 April 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
5 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?