Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 October 2010
I am a big fan of Ms Kenyon's work and have read the 'first' Belador story, to which reference is made in this one. The only reason that I have given this book '4 stars' is that those constant references might leave a reader new to her writing wondering what happened in the past to have the characters where they are in this book.

Heroine: Evalle Kincaid, an 'Alterant', who is constantly concerned that her 'boos' is trying to find an excuse to lock her up, and take away her powers. Given that this would make her an easily caught victim, it is a reasonable concern. It seems someone or something is setting her up for a fall, and she has a very short time to figure out what is going on.

I liked in particular that this book does not have a firm conclusion.It is intended to be part of a series, and this is clear from the ending. I also liked the fact that although this is a large paperback, it does not have big print, which says to me that the author had actually written a good story, and doesn't have to pad it for size.

This book can be read as a standalone, but I think it is better is you have read the first Belador story.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
as with all Sherrilyn Kenyons books, this is well written, my problem with it was that it felt like you started reading in the middle of the story. As with any new series you have the problem of where to begin the tale and how to introduce the back story, this is not 100% successful here and you are left feeling a vital piece of the story has been omitted, references are made to a relationship between two of the major characters which leave you flicking back through the book thinking you have missed some pages. Apart from this the story also lacked some depth with too much information and too many characters introduced while trying to tell a ticking clock story, you know 48 hours to save the world. Having said all this, it is Sherrilyn Kenyon so i will wait till book 2 in the series before i decide whether it is good or bad, i did enjoy the read, but if were not written by SK i would not recommend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A novel of two authors and one that benefits not only from the experience of the more prolific but also title that also picks up a serious flavour of the other.

It's a title with strong characters, a smart female lead and one that also leads to forgiveness and understanding. It's a beautiful novel and when added to some great dialogue as well as a huge overall arc, really makes this novel something different.

Finally, the way in which this title has been created really is going to be interesting to see where this series goes in future instalments and hopefully will build upon the success of this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 October 2010
Sherrilyn Kenyon leaves her Dark-Hunter world behind to collaborate with Dianna Love and create an equally magical urban fantasy adventure. In an exciting new world a woman takes centre stage, the mysterious Evalle Kincaid, part Belador (a secret society of warriors with special abilities) and part unknown species. Known as an Alterant, Evalle is considered by many Beladors to be nothing more than a mongrel that should be exterminated. It doesn't help that Evalle is the only free Alterant alive; the others caged or killed when they transformed into bestial forms before going on a killing spree. So far Evalle has managed to contain her inner beast, yet there are those who watch her closely in the hopes she slips up. A member of VIPER, an organisation created to protect humans from supernatural predators, Evalle has to work twice as hard as any other agent just to keep her freedom, yet her best efforts have little effect on some pure blood Beladors.

There are a wide range of supernatural characters introduced in this book as Evalle investigates a vicious murder which unfortunately looks very like an Alterant attack. With only three days to prove her innocence plus find a magical stone that could destroy the world, Evalle has her hands full. Interestingly her love interests are not the two Belador males who accept her, but instead a human and a fellow VIPER agent assigned to help her investigation. There are of course a few problems; Evalle has major trust issues following an ordeal in her past and these two new men in her life both have the power to put her away permanently.

Evalle's love interests may be introduced; however disregarding a few passionate kisses the romance side of things definitely take a back seat to the fast paced plot line. Do not expect a heated "Dark-Hunter" style romance; instead Evalle's investigations in "Blood Trinity" involve a high number of demon and magical attacks which leaves little time for any hanky-panky. This book is exciting and action packed, but is does clobber you over the head with the sheer number of characters involved in the story plus the world building taking place. There are different supernatural societies introduced, their histories explained and their wide range of abilities demonstrated during battle scenes. Yet despite the constant flow of information in a busy plot, Evalle very much remains a mystery. Who are her parents, what species is she and why was she raised in such an unusual and alarming manner? This is a marvellous start to a series but could easily have been two books instead of one. The plot definitely has two parts; Evalle's quest to clear her name and understand more of her heritage, plus the search for a stone that can bestow unlimited power to the one who wields it. That aside, this is a high octane enjoyable read which packs plenty of punch and I very much look forward to learning more about Evalle and the men in her life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
One of the best paranormal series I have read and i have read a heck of a lot. Believable characters and a plot that, for a change, doesn't rely on graphic sex every few pages. Not many books I've read more than once but this one is an exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
This author was recommended to me and hasn't disappointed off to purchase the second in the series knowing I will also purchase the next too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
This book will have you unwilling to put it down you feel like you are really thete living the adventure with them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
i enjoy reading sherrilyn kenyon. yes i would reccommend this book. I will be buying the next two books. thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
A very good start of a book to get u interested that u cant put the book down once u start to read it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Loved it! Great prickly heroine and absolutely riveted by Storm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse