Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.99

Save £6.00 (67%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Blood Ties by [Hayes, Sam]
Kindle App Ad

Blood Ties Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews

See all 13 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.99
Audio CD, Audiobook
"Please retry"
£9.95

Length: 420 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

Review

'A hard-hitting tale of abduction, prostitution, child abuse, family secrets and betrayal. With a few red herrings scattered around to confuse, a gritty sense of real-life drama and a page-turning compulsion, this is a sort of misery memoir (albeit fiction) mixed with a contemporary saga. It's an area about to expand as the popularity for real life stories of child torment and abuse catch the novelist's imagination' (Sarah Broadhurst, lovereading.co.uk)

Book Description

'A miss-your-bus-stop page-turner' Heat


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1344 KB
  • Print Length: 420 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (4 Mar. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003WJR5T0
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #79,872 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I had heard about this new author from a friend who had read 'Blood Ties' on holiday and insisted I try it. I was not disappointed. This is a gritty and disturbing thriller that taps into every Mother's most primal terror...the abduction of an infant. That however, is just the tip of the iceberg. It's an intricate plot with alternating points of view but it's a rewarding journey and the threads are resolved with a twist that I certainly did not anticipate. For me, the strengths of this novel were the believable and interesting characters and its freshness and originality in handling weighty emotional themes. I loved it and can't wait for the next offering from Sam Hayes.
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I picked this book up when I was shopping last weekend, and should have known better, as once I was home and started reading it, I could not put it down- the housework was left completely untouched! The events in Blood Ties and the brilliant writing literally had me pinned to my seat- it's a complete emotional rollercoaster, and you're never quite sure what will happen next. I'd highly reccommend this to anyone.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I read this book in a matter of days. Its one of those page turners that you just have to keep reading. I found it fantastic and thought the author did so well in putting all the twists and turns into the story without making it confusing. You really could relate and feel for the different people that make up this novel. I will definatly be looking out for other books by this author!!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Robert Knight meets and marries Erin very quickly after a traumatic divorce. Feelings of betrayal and mistrust are the legacies he brings with him although he remains optimistic that he'll find the happiness he's searching for second time around.

Erin meets Robert having survived a traumatic childhood and an early adult life blighted by unhappiness and misfortune. She is delighted to meet Robert who offers her and her daughter Ruby a life of unconditional love and security.

The scene should be set for a happy ending. Or so they both think.

But secrets have a way of outing themselves and the offer of a place at a new school for her daughter threatens everything Erin has fought to keep hidden and finds her battling with Robert to keep her new happiness in tact. Robert in turn begins to feel that once again he is being betrayed by the woman he loves and doubts about Erin just won't go away.

And so the secret eats away at both of them. Robert is trying to get at the truth and Erin is trying to keep it hidden. The plot is set against the backdrop of child who went missing from her mother 12 years earlier and who hasn't been seen since. It's further complicated by the appearance of Louisa, a close friend of Robert's who wants what's best for him and who just happens to be a private investigator. Which is when it all begins to unravel.......

This is a brilliantly paced thriller which is almost all the more disturbing set as it is against the backdrop of normal surburban life. Sam Hayes has done a great job creating characters that you find yourself liking and empathising with.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I love Samantha Hayes books. You are always guaranteed a tense and gripping story which twists and turns. This book has been sitting neglected on my kindle for years and I can't believe that I hadn't read it sooner. If you're after a book that you can't put down this is highly recommended by me. A solid 4 stars
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was looking forward to this after reading her latest effort however I was very disappointed. We have no insight into Erin and Robert's marriage before her secret is revealed. We are not told how/why he seemed to plunge head first into a marriage to someone he just met. I didn't feel any empathy towards them because of this. Some plot devices were added which presumably supposed to provide some kind of moral justification for his actions but it felt tacked on and irrelevant. Some of the decisions he made were nonsensical and just didn't make any sense. No explanation or background given of the main protagonist and their actions.
Avoid.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Michelle Moore VINE VOICE on 1 April 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is an absolutely gripping thriller, which I found hard to put down. The various parts of the story are gradually unwrapped, until they all come together.. but probably not in the way you expect.

There is an interesting mix of characters in this book, all with their own story to tell, and all lifelike and believable.. I found myself involved with each and every one, concerned for their outcome.

The strands of the story are told from the viewpoint of these characters, combining present and past, culminating in a satisfying finale.

A fast-paced thriller, that will stay with you after you finish.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is one of the best thrillers I have read. Gripping the reader from the outset, the story centres around Robert, his new wife, Erin, and his step-daughter, Ruby. Jumping back and forth in time and between first and third person as it does so, the book is incredibly well written and convinces in both types of voice.

This is a gritty book and deals with some quite disturbing topics, including various forms of abuse. Never gratuitous, it is used powerfully and terrifyingly.

Sam Hayes is incredibly talented at incorporating twists into her books and although I knew that twists were coming, I couldn't guess exactly what they would be. The author makes extremely good use of the first person to deceive and confuse the reader. You can never be certain whether the first person narrator is telling the complete truth, whether there is an agenda or whether the narrator is even deceiving him/herself.

I would particularly recommend this book for readers of Elizabeth Haynes, Claire Seeber, Linwood Barclay and Rachel Abbott.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover