Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
70
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2013
This, the debut novel of John Salter, is the story of the legendary Briton Caratacus and his quest to protect his homeland from the Claudian invasion of Britain. Most of the book focuses on the 2nd Augusta Legion under it's Legate Vespasian as he strives to convince the various tribes to acquiesce to Roman rule and order. The author brings to life some very interesting characters both Roman and Briton in this well researched tale. The Britons Caratacus, Adminius and Brenna bring to life the differences of opinion as to whether submission to Rome or the destruction of the invader is the better choice for their home and people. Their motives and emotions are vastly different from each other(I won't say who is of which opinion so as to not reveal a spoiler, though Caratacus' choice is probably well known) and are the heart and soul of the conflict.

As in any good story there are plenty of plot twists especially one towards the end that is very nice yet very nasty and I was taken completely by surprise. The battle scenes are well done, the gore is not overly excessive yet enough so that you get the feel of what it would have been like to be a Roman legionnaire facing a menacing group of frenzied, woad covered warriors. You also get to know what it was like to be an advance scouting party of Roman cavalry from the intense fear to the comradeship of the men involved. I am looking forward to the next volume in this saga as the battle for Britain is far from over and Caractacus is as determined as ever to throw the Romans back into the sea. My rating for this is 3.8 stars.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Yet another book covering the Roman advance thru Albion. Let us hope it's not John Salters last.
With such an exiting moment in history Mr Salter opens the panorama as seen thru the eyes of several characters.
Exiting, fast paced, we can almost smell and taste the reality. Most enjoyable read!
We hope that Mr Salter is back at his keyboard, weaving the next tapestry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
A rattling good adventure about Caratacus (his spelling) and his resistance to the Claudian invasion of 43 AD. Sadly I have to deduct stars because this self-published volume is riddled throughout with mistakes in spelling, grammar and punctuation; I persevered, but it was most distracting.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Though not a big fan of Roman era historical novels, which can sometimes spin off in somekind of Arthorian legend.. this does not. The confrontation between highly organised Roman legionaries and Iron-age Celtic tribes is insightful... I enjoyed John Salter's first installment very much. Well paced plots and storyline with factual historic background. I am especially impressed that the author self funded the publication of this and the next book. I highly recommend this novel.

Well done John....keep at it, and hope your writing career goes from strength to strength...and maybe (if you wish it to happen?) A publishing house recognises your talent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Whilst this seems to be a slow start, it's deceptive and thoroughly riveting. It seems to have everything that is required in an historical novel, including some surprises. There's Heros an villains, but you are never sure who is who until the end. Even then there is uncertainty
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
A very gripping story, based on the invasion of Britannia by the Romans. Although a little slow to start as the historical background is provided, the book quickly develops, with some fast-paced battle scenes. The characters are well introduced, and you quickly get a sense of their beliefs and role within the invasive and defensive armies. The battle scenes are graphically described, and you are left with a real sense of what it would have been like to have been involved.

Overall, a very entertaining read which kept me gripped throughout.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
John Salter's first epic in the 'Blood of Rome Chronicles' leaves the reader in anticipation for what is to follow? A refreshing take on the Roman invasion of Britannia, Salter skilfully takes history and storytelling to a new level. As a debut novel it excels and its principal characters both intrigue and inspire. As a Roman 'junkie' I approached this novel with some trepidation but I was not disappointed! John Salter's writings position him alongside Cornwell and Iggulden and I for one can't wait for more!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
This debut novel is not for the squeamish as it places you at the heart of the ferocious and blood-thirsty battles between the Romans and the early Britons. With well-researched historical detail and appealing characters on both sides it culminates with an unexpected twist to the plot. I feel compelled to find out what happens next and will have to get my hands on Part 2 of this Saga!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
A great story based on a great, but often ignored character. However, John has published this himself and although he offers his apologies for any errors there were, truly, a lot. I suspect he used spell check rather than have it properly proof-read. 'Taught' instead of the correct 'taut' for example. Sentences are sometimes difficult to comprehend as the punctuation is missing or incorrect. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it; the battle scenes were as good as any others I have read, including Anthony Riches whom I really like, and the story generally flows. However, he does sometimes forget what he said earlier e.g. at the very beginning of the book some of the Roman's ballistas were captured and the Britons did not know what to make of it, but this very interesting proposition never came back in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2016
It's a shame that a good story, told by someone who clearly loves writing stories and has a colourful imagination, should be spoilt by what one can only assume is bad proof-reading. There are several serious punctuation errors on every page, along with misspellings and grammatical solecisms. I found that these seriously marred my enjoyment of the story, so much so that I only got about halfway through it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse