Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
98
4.5 out of 5 stars
Blood Red Snow
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 March 2017
very good thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Great book! Gives a vivid account into the life of an ordinary German Solider at war. It can be quite depressing but overall it truly captures the horror of war and is a fantastic historical read form a primary source.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
I have enjoyed reading this book, and learning about some of the horrors of war, but for me considering the politics of today the last two paragraphs are the most sobering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Very good book described the Eastern Front very vividly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Very good and broadly aligns with many other accounts that I have read (both Russian and German).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
A fascinating personal account of war. Turns me into a pacifist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
This is truly a remarkable first hand account of the fighting on the eastern front during WWII. There are many other books which have all dealt with the same topic, but I have never read a book which simply describes what happened with honesty and simple clarity. We follow machine gunner Koschorrek between the years 42-44 in different parts of Russia, Italy and Romania. The book actually starts with his lucky escape from the Stalingrad pocket in Dec -42, from there on it just gets worse. He describes the incredible bravery performed by the average soldier, the friends and comrades who were not so lucky and last but not least, the inhuman conditions of war as they were experienced on the eastern front. I read this book in two days - it was impossible to put it down.......
22 Comments| 141 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I don't really want to repeat what other reviewers have said. What I would like to add though, as an ex-professional translator, is how well this story was translated into English - by a Norwegian translator. Apparently the translator himself is of the wartime generation, having fought in the Norwegian Resistance, so he has some experience of the German Army in WW2. I found it especially interesting how he gave British Army equivalents some very specific German military designations, and how he conveyed the German flavour of the story so well.

There is always unfortunately great potential for a poor translation to ruin a good story, but in this case the translator has done the author proud.

All in all an excellent and enthralling story.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)