Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
46
4.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£22.95+ £1.99 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2007
I've played most of of the World War 2 simulators on the market i.e Call of Duty, Medal of Honour and so on, and I can safely say that you will never have as much fun on a games console as you will on Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WW2.

It took me a while to get past the tutorial level but that may have been because I found the Nunchuck hard to control but i soon realised that you can change what you use control the plane and I now use the wii remote.

You quickly develop a virtual relationship with your Squadron as you journey through World War 2 in a plane of the era that you are currently in at that point in the game including Spitfires and Hurricanes. The best battle is easily the battle of Britain simply because it provides such a diverse range of gameplay and excitement. This is helped by the fact that you can command your squadron to Attack, Form up on you, defend and each member of you squadron has a different ability which is very useful when you have one plane tagging you that you can't catch and shoot down.

You get immense amusement from listenin to the witty banter amongst your squadrons and the allied forces. You also get to hear German and Japanese communications between their planes.

It does get harder as you proceed through the game but you are encouraged by the rating you get at the end of each mission and an overwhelming urge to fly the planes you have just unlocked.

Multiplayer mode is exceptional with a complete range of missions, some in co-op and some head on. You can choose to duel with the other player or join them as you enter a Dogfight with countless numbers of enemies. Multiplayer lets you have everything from the minute you put the disk in the slot and so you do no have to spend hours trying to complete it so that you can enjoy it with your friends.

Finally, this game has amazing graphics. Who says Wii graphics are rubbish? You can see the textures on the individual house of London. You can fly under and around the Eiffel tower. You can see the ripples of the water as you come in low across the sea to ambush a fleet of ships.

A must buy for anyone who loves gaming.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2008
This is a good solid game. The controls (which are configurable) are quite arcade like and not exactly an accurate simulation of flying. Nevertheless, the game is enjoyable. As with any American produced WWII game the dialogue and scene setting are very Americanised, and do lack a little in accuracy. I'm not sure how many American pilots were flying for the RAF in 1939, but I doubt it was very many.

Back to the game, the range of aircraft is good, there is not always much to choose between them in terms of aerodynamics and speed, but you certainly feel the difference in firepower. If anyone has played the excellent Secret Weapons over Normandy on the Xbox or PS2, they will see certain similarities here. Secret Weapons was superior in the storyline and dialogue, but being able to use the Wii's controls lends Angels a unique flying experience. This is what makes the game so good.

The missions are not terribly challenging, and to be honest they don't take too many attempts to complete, but there are lots of missions, so there is a good degree of longevity with the game.

Overall, I would certainly recommend it. It's not a sophisticated flight simulator, but it is jolly good fun! Tally-Ho Alge!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
(Review written by my son, age 12) I waswanting a good WWII shoot 'em up and I was not disappointed by this. Although I'm not a hardcore gamer this is faster moving than most games I already have and I love it. It is extremely exciting from the moment you put the disk in the slot to the end credits. It really feels like you are a proper RAF pilot. The plot is that you are a yank who wants to help the Brits before Pearl Harbor, so you enter one of the American squadrons in the RAF. First you do various training tasks to learn the controls. The rest goes in chronological order from the defense of Dunkirk to D-Day. When you work through the you get new planes for the next missions.
There are a few things that aren't really in the planes are: locking on to enemy planes and having unlimited bullets.

The controls are easy to master and enemy aircraft are highlighted on your radar and the sky along with allied forces. Your friend gives you mid-flight info that is written on the top as well as spoken. The graphics are amazing for a Wii game as when you fly low over the water it ripples and the explosions are really realistic! The only annoying thing is the incessant sound of the rounds of bullets from your plane. (Mum finds this even more annoying!)

The game is great for anyone who wants a flight simulator game and who is interested in World War 2.

As a 12 year old I loved it and it gives you a super fun game that is perfect for a rainy afternoon or for any time in the day if you feel like being and RAF pilot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
Initially it takes a while to get the hang of the controls, but the first (training) mission helps enormously, then the control method goes on to become really good fun (selectable between Wii-Remote/Nunchuck motion sensors or just standard analogue/button controllers).

However, the story line for the on-going missions is pure cheese!

If you can get over The Sun(esque) glorification/sensationalism of history then everyone can enjoy the game for what it is, a very entertaining game that plays very well.

Still not tried the head to head yet (only split-screen and not LAN/WiFi), but if it's as good as the main game then it'll probably cause a lot of RSI as you tend to have to rotate/roll your wrists a lot when using the motion-sensors control method.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2007
I enjoyed this game a lot. The level difficulties are well pitched and both the dogfights and the bombings are very satisfying when done right. The campaign mode is fairly short, but after that there is a lot to perfect and do after finishing the main story.

The actual "game" aspect is good fun and there's plenty of it.

But now I come to the bad bit. When I first started on the first mission every thing started well and I completed it fairly easily. But by the time I got to the London mission I really noticed something wrong. When I selected the wiimote only sensitivity (you hold it on its side, like the racing games) and you turn it too far the the plane breifly goes out of control, allowing the tailing enemy plane to shoot you down. Having said that the game rarely puts you in a crucial situation so it doesn't effect you much.

All in all a good game, but it could be better.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first thing to point out about Blazing Angels on the Wii is that it has not been developed specifically for Nintendo's platform. This means that whilst the controls do make use of the Wii's wireless motion detector interface, the manner in which they do so is not perfect. In fact after trying various options I found that the best way to play the game is with a combination of the Wii controller in motion sensitive mode to 'fly' the plane, and the nunchuck to control weapons and speed.

So if you are looking for a flight simulator that makes the most use of the Wii's unique features Blazing Angels is not that game. It tries hard but still falls short.

That being said, it is still a fun game. Placing you in the role of a WWII fighter pilot (American, but then you can't have everything) it offers you a variety of gaming options, from campaigns that combine aerial combat and bombing missions to straight arcade style dogfights.

Being on the Wii the graphics certainly aren't photorealistic, but their good enough for this sort of game, and the controls are intuitive enough to be easy to master. Actually mastering the game on the other hand, is an entirely different matter. This is certainly no push over, and it takes some practice in the air to get anywhere in either the campaign or arcade options.

Still, practising is half the fun, and there is a real feeling of reward when you do finally master a manouver and blast your target out of the sky. And who doesn't enjoy blasting enemy planes out of the sky. For that thrill alone this is worth the money.

Are there any real niggles. Well, the constant 'chat' from your wingmen gets pretty trying, but you can turn them off so that's just a minor whinge. More frustrating is the fact that whilst in campaign mode there are regular 'checkpoints' that you can restart at if you crash out during gameplay, you cannot save a game until you reach the end of a specific campaign. This means that you cannot stop half way through a successful campaign to do something else and pick up from the same spot later. When you get through three checkpoints, need to take a break and then have to restart from scratch it becomes a bit tiring.

Still if you want just a quick blast 'em session then you can always try the arcade option that simply involves blowing planes from the sky. This is the most accesible and fun part of the game. Its certainly the option I choose most often, not having the time or patience to win a whole campaign.

So overall Blazing Angels is not perfect, neither in terms of the use it makes of the Wii's features or in its own right as a game. Still, its fun, entertaining and allows you to play WWII flying ace. For those factors alone I would recommend it.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
This is one of the first games I ever got for the Wii. It strongly reminded me of Rouge leader for the Gamecube. You play as and American, who has joined up with the 71st Eagle squadron. An RAF squadron operated by Americans. Starting with the desperate evacuation of the BEF at Dunkirk, you take the fight back to Jerry. Until of course Pearl Harbour. You then fight the Empire of the Rising Sun, before preparing for operation Overlord. You push past Normandy, liberate Paris, before finaly reaching Berlin and destroying the Nazis' war machine. For obvious reasons, you do not get to pilot Enola Gay. However when you finish the game you do feel pleased with yourself. The controls are easy to grasp and with the exception of the mission "Top Secret" work very well. If you want to understand what your grand parents are on about, when they go into another one of their "During the war.." lectures, buy this game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
Blazing Angels is great fun!!!
The only flaw is that the image is a bit grainy, and sometimes jumpy.
It has a very good selection of aircraft,
most of the well known planes of WW11 are there, and a few more. You can fly
German, American, Japanese, and British Aircraft, including the Gloster Meteor and ME262.
And you can fly in most of the major battles, Dunkirk, Battle of Britain, Battle of Midway,
D-Day, but to name a few.
Very Good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Bought to replace previous game which had got scratched and refused to play (damn kids !) just had to get another it's that good. Will keep you entertained for years not just days ! Educational too would you believe ! But better than that it's just great fun. Not to be taken lightly, the tasks are extremely challenging and some will take you days maybe even weeks to conquer. But although this can be hellish frustrating I think it's what makes the game sooooooooooo good. (Once you've wiped the sweat from your brow) you get a great feeling when you've completed a particularly hard mission. You'll never get bored of this game !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)