Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.79

Save £13.08 (73%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Blasket Spirit - Stories from the Islands: Stories from the Islands by [Fennelly, Anita]
Kindle App Ad

Blasket Spirit – Stories from the Islands: Stories from the Islands Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.79

Length: 227 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Great Reads for 99p
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to 99p each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

'A very charming read' Sunday Tribune 'Fennelly's retreat to the islands is recounted here with a particularly descriptive talent' Sunday Business Post 'A good read' Irish Independent

About the Author

Anita Fennelly, from County Kilkenny, is a graduate of the former Thomond College of Education, now the University of Limerick. Having worked for many years in Portugal and England she returned to live in her native Kilkenny with her daughter and now teaches English and Drama.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1070 KB
  • Print Length: 227 pages
  • Publisher: The Collins Press (3 Mar. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0046A9JHU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #711,398 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 4 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
A captivating read that is full of imagery and character. Having ambitions myself to 'retreat' and spend time alone writing, I was curious to see how Anita coped with such a solitary adventure. I marvelled at her self-sufficiency and courage to take such as step, especially at a time when her thoughts were troubled. I finished the book feeling inspired and uplifted. The stories she retold were captivating and the descriptions of the inhabitants and visitors gave a glimpse of how the human spirit responds to a life less ordinary. The writing is vivid yet intimate, so you feel like you are on your own journey to Blasket, enjoying the feel of the wet earth under your bare feet too. Wonderful.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
gosh! have you thought of just running away and staying on the blasket island for months on end? well this lady did it. and it was wonderful to read of someone who did just that recently. i loved the book. i kept my head in it the whole day till i finished and iv decided im going to do this next year. im taking a back pack and tent and heading off there and im 46 years. i so so love this book. buy it, you wont be dissapointed. i so enjoyed reading it xx
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I thoroughly enjoyed this enchanting book and would highly recommend it. As the story went on, I began to feel a real attachment to the island and the characters who were there. I loved discovering the fascinating history and tales of the islands through Anita Fennelly's personal experiences. A real delight to read and very thought provoking. Highly recommended.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book is a delight. For readers of Blasket Island books it is refreshingly different from all the others in that Anita Fennelly lived on theGreat Blasket Islandwhich was evacuated in 1953 for a summer in the very recent past.
Most Blasket books tell us about the way of life of the islanders in the past when the island was populated but this one has all the history and mystery and brings the abandoned island into the present day, telling how it is now, and how life still goes on there and even tourism exists.
She does not go into her reasons for going there, stating only personal trauma as her need to find solitude and peace of the spirit at the edge of the world, but when you read the book you can hear the seagulls and the seals, watch the waves crashing on the beach and you get some of that peace of the spirit that she went there to find. You can really feel the present as well as the ghosts of the island's past. A great read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars A mix of personal experience and stories from the island. 6 Sept. 2013
By Bobcat - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm finished with Blasket Spirit: great book. a mix of personal experience on the Blasket with tales and stories of others. a very engaging read. (full disclosure: I am related to the writer, as she is my cousins partner)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Writing 3 Dec. 2011
By Jen C. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
I had the pleasure of meeting the author and her young daughter on a trip to Ireland earlier this year. Very modestly, after a period of conversation about the Blasket Islands, she told me she'd published a book of her stories. When I got home, imagine my surprise when I Googled her name and discovered she'd done several interviews about this book and had received some glowing reviews.

If you've ever been to the Dingle Peninsula in Ireland--or if you've only considered it--you must read this book. Fennelly weaves a tale of both sorrow and pleasure, sprinkling in unique points of history of the islands that I otherwise would not have learned. Having been in such close proximity to the Blaskets, with her elegantly descriptive style, Fennelly transported me back to that magical place at the end of the world.
5.0 out of 5 stars Blasket Spirit: Stories from the Islands 21 Dec. 2013
By Phyllis Williams - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This wonderful book continues in the time-honored tradition of books emanating from the Blasket Islands. It is a great page-turner, sensitive to the people who have preceded this author who have catalogued the world and traditions of the complex yet simple lives of island residents no longer with us and the tragic story of the abandonment of their long history of residence on this western-most outpost of Ireland. I really couldn't put it down. Very disappointed to come to the end and wish the author had written more. I am seeking a follow-on effort from Ms Fennelley.
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely tribute to the island 1 Nov. 2015
By Kathryn - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I envy the writer her extended experience on the Blasket. I was only there for a few hours and wanted to stay longer. Thankful the 50-sear restaurant never materialized. Thanks to the collapse of the "Tiger" I suppose... Or was it Buffer Keane? Really well written and fascinating stories drawn from history and myth.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know
click to open popover