Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Black Sufis of Gujarat

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 12 Sep 2005
Available from these sellers.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Audio CD (12 Sept. 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Kapa
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 914,629 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Eheleh Noor
  2. Azan
  3. Avale Bismillah
  4. Salmini Salmini
  5. Zangbari Happa Gema
  6. Malunga Solo/Gori Pir Zikr
  7. Kari Damal
  8. Qawwali For Bava Gor

Product description

Product Description

SIDI GOMA: Black Sidis of Gujarat The mysterious, little known Sidis are the descendants of Africans who travelled across the Indian Ocean from East Africa to India over the last millennium or more. As Sufi Muslim devotees to an African saint and symbolic ancestor, their sacred songs praise him for bringing the gift of joy from the waves of the sea. Sharing this sacred gift by cheering and healing the suffering souls who come to their shrines is their divine calling and life-affirming talent. Goma is an ecstatic dance of praise retained and reinvented from African models and is emblematic for the name of the group: Sidi Goma – joyful prayers, intense rhythms, powerful drumming, sacred fun and exhilarating dance.


"ecstatic power… building slowly and steadily to a fever pitch" -- New York Times, September 2004

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

22 April 2007
Format: Audio CD
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse