Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
9
4.0 out of 5 stars
A Birdwatching Guide to France South of the Loire Including Corsica (Arlequin)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 April 2009
Being a keen birdwatcher and having recently moved to France, I had been looking for a book giving details of good birding locations and what birds I would find there. This is just the book I had wanted!
No this is not for Mum and Dad, who want to know the name of the little brown bird that had just turned up in their garden, it is aimed at the more experienced birder either visiting or resident in France.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Another good guide in the series. Invaluable for serious birdwatchers travelling in France saves a lot of time in research.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
This is a good but dated guide to places to watch birds in the south of France. It is not a guide to identifying birds once you see them.

Positives: The prose is clear to read. Descriptions of what to expect at the various sites are detailed. Directions to the sites are clear.

Negatives: The guide was clearly written sometime ago. The maps are old-fashioned, not in colour, and there are no photographs. At one site no birds were seen, although it was still worth the visit for the countryside.

In summary, the guide is worth the money, and given the very few birdwatching guides to France available I would recommend it. If you are willing to put up with it's old-fashioned style then it will take you to some beatiful places. Watching birds in France is challenging at the best of times due to hunting and this guide makes a good job of a difficult situation.

As an alternative I would recommend the FRENCH LANGUAGE guidebook "Où voir les oiseaux en France". Even if your French is restricited it seems to me still to be of benefit. There are many more sites in this book and the maps are better.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
I guess if you're after a field guide this isn't it.
Its more of a guide book to some good birding areas.
Personally I thought it achieved this goal adequately, however there are many gaps, after all the book is only 300 pages!
Its an excellent little book for planning that walk, or a weekend field trip, and is worth packing if you're unfamiliar with region.
In summary, if you want to identify birds, get a field guide, if you want to start to explore the south of France, pop this book in your bag.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2006
This is an excellent guide to the birdwatching sites in lower France with clear and accurate details on where to find sites and what to expect at each site. We found it invaluable for the Camargue, the Tarn Gorges and Languedoc - Roussillon area.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2006
We were looking for a book with photos, descriptions, habitat, etc of birds as a present for parents now retired to the South of France. Unfortunately, this isn't it - it's a set of driving tours (maps, picnic locations, etc), with some mentions of what kind of birds (with very occasional line-drawings) you may see at various stops. If that's what you're after, this is probably a great book (good size, lots of detail for the drives, etc). It wasn't what we wanted, and not what the title would suggest!
11 Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
recommended by birdwatcher in france. A good guide to lesser known places
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This was bought as a present to a keen birdwatcher. It was very well received and will accompany her on her trip to the Loire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)