Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £4.99

Save £2.00 (29%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Birdcage by [Willett, Marcia]
Kindle App Ad

The Birdcage Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews

See all 21 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£4.99

Length: 564 pages Word Wise: Enabled

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deals: Books from 99p
Sign-up to the Kindle Daily Deal email newsletter to discover daily deals from 99p.
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Book Description

The evocative novel from the acclaimed author of THE CHILDREN'S HOUR - perfect for fans of Erica James, Victoria Hislop and Santa Montefiore

Synopsis

It was Felix who first called it The Birdcage - that strange and quirky household in Bristol with its close, loving women including the superbly flamboyant Angel. Angel's daughter Lizzie had loved living there as a child - and she had also loved Felix, the nearest she had to a father, whose loyalties had been strained to the limit by his deeply jealous wife Marina. Lizzie was always aware that Felix had another life at beautiful, mellow Michaelgarth, the family home on the edge of Exmoor where he tried to bring up his son Piers in a loving and peaceful environment. When Lizzie, many years later, comes at last to Michaelgarth and meets Piers for the first time, she finds a family which is in trouble - and which, miraculously, needs her to help them to heal.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 568 KB
  • Print Length: 564 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0552150630
  • Publisher: Transworld Digital; New Ed edition (30 Sept. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0044KLPHE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #98,908 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
I enjoyed this book even more than the other Marcia Willett novels I have read. The depth of characterisation was excellent and I quickly became involved, even engrossed, not wanting to put the book down. I sympathised with Felix even though he was cheating on his wife because she gave him such a hard time. It seemed extremely clever to weave the past and the present together in this way, using the one to make sense of the other. The author knew just which words to use and her description of what it feels like to be abandoned by a partner was written with great sensitivity. I also loved the vivid conversations, so well constructed and startling. This is a book to keep on one's bookshelf to re-read in future and to savour favourite sections. I would probably choose where Lizzie plays the actress role to the full when she meets the lovely Alison for the first time. Marcia Willett excels in her ability to portray the rich variety of human relationships.
Comment 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The Birdcage was the last novel of Marcia Willett's I read before deciding that I must re-locate to the West Country. This book changed my life!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'd always enjoyed Marcia Willett's novels as a comfort read - undemanding, relaxing, but not mindless chick-lit. Fergus changed all that. I was looking to move from the S.E. after retirement and when I read about Fergus in his hotel room in Porlock I knew this was where I wanted to be. Dunster, Porlock and Watchet feature in most of her books and I sit here in Watchet writing this in awe.

Story - wonderful.

Impact - life-changing.

Message - please keep writing these delightful novels which make one think - but not too much. And then go on to make a life-change. Book is bliss - life is bliss.

For me this shows Marcia Willett's power of the pen to seduce oh so quietly.
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Not bad. Not brilliant - but it tries hard. It wants to be something it's not, something Great, moving, thoughtful. It doesn't really achieve this. It's not a complete disaster, there are some good uses of language to create atmosphere and interest, but ultimately, it is resigned to remain a mildly entertaining read, on the train perhaps. There are too many cliches and unconvincing characters/moments/storylines in this book to make it a serious contender for the prize of Making A Difference.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Almost a copycat of recent books that I have read but enjoyable. Everyone of Marcia Willett's books describes the mood, the environment and the thoughts of the characters in such detail. Looking for another now.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
As always, a lovely book by Marcia Willett. I love her books and am now buying them because our local libraries no longer stock them.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A very good read along the Marcia Willet style but different and more mature than some of her other novels. Thoroughly recommended.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Excellent book. I love all Marcia Willet books, She is a great storyteller
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a good read, although not as good as other books by Marcia Willett. There is a bit to much jumping around from one year to others which becomes a bit confusing at times.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover