Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
93
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 30 April 2010
If you do not have any of Lisa Stansfield's stuff, then this album is the one to get. She has a rich "earthy" voice full of light and shade. She puts herself into the music. To me she is like Al Green -in that they both leave part of themselves in their music.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2003
This is an excellent collection from one of British music's most popular females of the second half of the 20th century. Success for Lisa has come all over the world, even in America!
Although Lisa Stansfield hasn't been as commercially successful as she was in the late '80s and early '90s, the later material is just as strong - with The Real Thing being a personal favourite of mine.
There are 17 reasons why you should buy this album, they are all great tracks and it's a real privelige to have so much great material on one album. The Queen/George Michael track sees all profits going to the AIDS charity set up in the name of Freddie Mercury, a very worthy cause, and just one more small incentive to help persuade you to buy this album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2003
Its easy to forget just how many good hits Lisa Stansfield has actually had, but with this hits collection all of the old classics can be re-visited.
Hits such as "This is the right time", "People hold on" and "All around the world" have real longevity. Unlike so many other songs of the early 90's they have really stood the test of time.
I'd definitely reccomend getting this album. Get it now as there's a bonus disc, which has a great remix version of "People hold on", which is mixed over the Tori Amos hit "Proffesional Widow". So come on then - BUY IT!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
This is a very easy listening, upbeat album with at least 4/5 big numbers. There was a definitely a hint of the Barry White/Philadelphia Sound in a lot of Lisa Stanfield's music which I really enjoyed back in the day and now. A great album at a keen price. Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Just what I wanted - a blast from the past. The old tunes that being back the memories of the old "Lisa", I dereham000 about to purchase the new title and need some old stuff the compare old& new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
I am great fan of Lisa Stanfield and finally got round to replacing lost copies of her CD. Lisa soulful voice does not disappoint. This album includes some old classics along with some new edtions. Woth every penny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
Lisa Stansfields greatest hits was worth waithing for ,so enjoyed the trip down memory lane,such a fantastic vocal range and voice,good on ya girl.
Hope there's some new material in there one day.Di from Portugal(northern expat)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Lisa did one really no female British artist has ever done by securing 4 platinum U.K. albums and 1 gold. And then 1 Double Platinum, 1 Platinum and 1 Gold album in the states. She even can boasted by being featured on the Best Selling Worldwide "Bodyguard" soundtrack with the Top 10 "Someday" hit.
From "Affection", Lisa posted no less than 5 hits led by the worldwide #1, "All Around the World" and the album went onto sell 5 million worldwide.
From "Real Love" she grabbed another solid 3 hits and 1 moderate effort led by her 3rd #1 American R&B hit, "All Woman".
And although, her American label stumbled in not releasing "So Natural", her U.K base gave her another 3 platinum smash with a barrel of beautiful videos shot around Europe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2006
Well I have to admit to being a little biased here. Lisa Stansfield has been my favourite singer ever since I heard People Hold On with Coldcutt many years ago.

I believe it was called Northern Soul at the time, and Lisa became the Queen.

Over the years the raw edge that she had mellowed more towards ballads, and she created many classic hits like "Change" and "All Woman".

Sadly we dont see too much of her of late and her last album, Moments was a little disappointing.

However this album brings back all the classics, from her energy driven start "All around the World" "This is the Right Time", to the classic ballad singer.

If you have never heard Lisa sing then this is a great start point but please please look into her other albums and you will find songs that in my opinion are better than those that have not been included. Notably "Tenderly" and "A Little More Love" from the "Real Thing" album and the absolutely brilliant "You Cant deny it" from the early and I stillfeel her best "Affection " album.

She has been Queen of Northern Soul and Queen of my heart for many years.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I bought the album as I am going to see Lisa Stansfield in concert in June and couldn't remember what songs she sang!

The album is brilliant and I have listened to it several times. I bought the album second hand as it was cheaper. The CD was in fantastic condition as if it were new.

Great! I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£4.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)