Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
30
3.9 out of 5 stars
Beyond the Limit
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74


on 27 April 2014
This really just picks up where the last one left off. If you read the first one, then you'll know what to expect. The variation here is a complete race by race review of the entire 2000 series.
There's small pen portraits of most the main characters around the paddock, a lot of which may be familiar from the first book.
There's pieces on the checks before the races, the issues with helicopters, hospitals etc, along with the set up of the medical cars during the races.
It does feel a bit disjointed at times, it could have done with a heavier editing hand on it, but saying that the enthusiasm shines through. Definitely worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
A very good read. Interesting material for all F1 fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2001
Prof Watkins' account of Formula One has made me become very interested in this sport, despite knowing nothing about it whatsoever before I read this excellent book and his other- Life at the Limit. His role of being the chief medical man at every Formula One meeting, and his invaluable help with all the tremendous safety innovations which have revolutionarised the sport, make him a leading man- no one better could write such a book. Added to this is his wicked sense of humour which shines through every page and kept me giggling throughout the book, and what is created is a must-have guide for anyone interested in Grand Prix. Read it and see for yourself...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2001
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, Sid is a great storyteller. If you're looking for a different F1 book than this is the one for you!! I liked reading about different drivers reactions after a crash, and how some still managed to be on top of things. It's a great read and I'd recommend it to anyone who's into F1.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2001
Prof Sid should be worth a read. He has seen more of the action and characters of F1, closer up, than anyone - even Murray Walker or B. Ecclestone. ...

The book consists of a hotchpotch of anecdotes presumably assembled from the ones left on his editor's floor from the previous book, many of which are banal, weak and lacking any connection with F1. This last point would not matter if the stories were pithy, witty and interesting: few are.

A pointless, skimpy and garbled re-hash of the 2000 season is trotted out to fill out the mid-section and the book ends with appendices of tables of extremely erudite but arcane statistics on injuries, construction materials, design specs and other matters vital to the FIA Medical and Technical Committees but of no interest to anyone else - not even Grand Prix drivers, I suspect - least of all Eddie Irvine ...

Prof Sid is a self-deprecating fellow. The result of the modesty of his narrative is that on many occasions you feel he's apologising for being present at the events and with the characters involved: consequently, descriptions are thin, lack colour and tend either to drift to vague, aimless conclusions or just stop dead, leaving the reader suspended, waiting for a point that will never be made.

By all means buy this book for a journey, swallow it whole at one sitting for the occasional insight or humorous anecdote expressed by an evidently charming man, then leave it on the plane without a second thought, as I did. One day we will have the full autobiography of Prof Sid, hopefully guided by a writer such as Alan Henry, Nigel Roebuck or David Tremayne. Unlike this one, that book will be worth keeping.
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2001
I thought this book was terrific. Sid is really one of the most important guys in F1 - so much depends on his decisions. Here you get an inside track to his mind and his thoughts about the dangerous nature of the sport which he loves. It's a great story - read it!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
If you have read the author's (excelent and highly recommended) previous book "Life at the limit" then this book might disapoint you.
It's not that bad, but for sure it does not contain so many interesting stories and anecdotes as his previous work, and it seems a little bit short and uninspired. I strongly advise you to wait for the paperback edition which is more reasonably priced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
One of the most boring and poorly written books I have ever endured. Was hoping for insights and anecdotes, what I got as an endless list of doctors names and specialities. This man must have had a fascinating and unique position in F1 and yet the book fails almost completely to share any of the experience. A complete waste of time and money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
If you've read, and enjoyed, 'Life at the Limit' you'll probably want to read this too. It's written in a very factual, non-sensationalist style, as the previous book, so anyone look for 'blood, guts and gore' will be disappointed, and very probably even bored! But if you're a fan of F1 (or, as my father would say, an 'enthusiast' - he hates the word 'fan' because of the negative connotations that come with the word from football, especially back in the 80s) and are aware of, but not really sure in detail, about the work Professor Watkins did for the sport, then both books are a necessary read. A good man who achieved so much. R.I.P. Prof.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)