Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
10
3.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2005
The second half of the book is full of anecdotes that describe accounts of strange coincidences. There is no way to know whether the events are true but they are quite good to talk about in the pub.

The first half is full of half-baked philosophy, not very deep and a bit like a scrap book of ideas but if you are new to them you may find it interesting. Or not, if you think C G Yung is a bit of a looney.
Quite an easy read, perhaps for youngsters as well. And because of the author's connections with Radio 4 (the best radio station in the universe) it is good pedigree stuff.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 May 2004
Mixing tales of the truly extraordinary with the truly banal, beyond coincidence is a fun book that occasionally tries to take itself too seriously.
It introduces mathematical equations, relays between atomic particles and the mystery of connected universes and parallel worlds. Plimmer and King use a light brush with some deeply complex academic and scientific issues in an attempt to solve a plethora of lucky, chanceful meetings and events that colourfully pepper the book.
The section on probability is illuminating; the supposed odds for certain events occurring are both astronomical – in the millions and billions to one such as wining the lottery; and highly likely – 100 to one such as being killed in a road accident. How many of us like to think we’ll win the lottery one day compared to considering the risk in using the car?
The book goes on to explain how the complex and interconnected world we live in will inevitably throw up freakish and seemingly unlikely coincidences at some point in everyone’s life. Whether this draws us to worship at the temple of fate and destiny or one takes a more sober view, when coincidence strikes it never fails to amaze, excite and turn into a tale to tell down the pub.
So a rewarding read for part one of the book. Where Beyond Coincidence often fails to amaze and excite itself is in part two. This is merely a long, long, sloppy list of coincidence stories most of which are trite and everyday – she went to a party she didn’t want to go to and met the man of her dreams who also didn’t want to be there and happened to live in the rented flat she was going to rent beforehand – so what!
Disappointingly this turns what was a semi-scientific dip into coffee table material. Indeed it’s unlikely you’ll be interested enough to last much more than twenty or so pages into the 150 pages of the second section. The chances of you thinking the same? Highly likely!
A fun compendium with a few intellectual markers, albeit spoilt by some lazy filling in the second half.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2004
I really enjoyed about the first half of this book. It introduced a few accounts of coincidences but only to illustrate a mathematical or scientific reason. This was truly fascinating and has really given me a new perspective on issues of 'fate', 'destiny', 'luck', and exactly what coincidence really is, as well as the varying attitudes of people to such events.
However the second half became a compilation of 'interesting' coincidences, grouped by a vague subject. There are many books and websites that do this already, and in fact this book credits those mentioned to such sources. It almost felt as though the book was being padded out.
Overall I was left extremely disappointed. Not that the accounts of coincidence aren't fascinating or curious, merely that such a promising beginning became so banal. I wouldn't want to put someone off buying this book, but do be aware that it isn't maths and science throughout.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2004
Few books leave me with a smile on my face everytime I pick them up to read just a few pages. This manages it. It really does make the reader wonder if there is something controlling events around us. Over 100 pages of coincidence 'stories' including chance meetings, strange deaths etc. One example is a 10 year old girl releases a balloon only for it to land 140 miles away in the garden of a girl with the same name and date of birth! Truth can be stranger then fiction....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
I'm not sure why some reveiw's of this book are so poor ... what did you expect ?? It does what it clearly say's on the tin ... with over 200 stories of strange, funny, lucky & tragic coincidences there's enough to keep anyone amused for a couple of hours ... i especially liked the farmer called McDonald story ... so easy to please !! A nice in-betweener with at least a handful of stories that you'll want to pass on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Very interesting, easy to read and entertaining. Some of the examples are unbelievable, I would recommend it and a must read for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2004
This would make a good birthay or christmas present for adults over the age of around 25. I would know being 24, left handed and female. I've only bought the book in Weymouth August 2004 and i'm near the end. I had a feeling or thought that it would be a good read.The first part of the book was the most interesting for me personally and the second half is like short stories or examples. You could well have dreams or nightmares or even both reading it but it is worth it if you are like minded. Enjoy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2009
If you are considering buying this, then I presume that you are interested in what may lye BEYOND coincidences, not just coincidences themselves. If this is true, then I would advice strongly that you don't waste your time - I read this on the presumption that there would be some evidence that coincidences were more than just coincidences, and instead the authors have opted to simply pummel the reader with as many coincidences as possible to convince them that something fishy is going on. If you have half a brain, I'm sure you will be well aware that on a planet inhabited by six billion people, strange things are likely to occur from time to time and these events are made no stranger by simply collecting them together in a book.

If the title were 'light hearted book with some amusing coincidences in', I might be more inclined to spare it this review, but they have quite blatantly and misleadingly included the word 'beyond' in the title, and for that fact they have made me spend money I wish I hadn't.

Not recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
This book lulls you into a false sense of security with sections on statistics and mathematical models (and the chapters on these are OK), but ends up giving as much weight to "new-age" mysticism surrounding consequences.

If you think there's something "special" about everyday coincidences, this book may well appeal to you.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2004
I gave this book two stars because whilst it may sound like an interesting and amusing subject it is way to long and doesn't present us with anything more than one coincidence after another for 90% of the book.
So, all coincidence can be explained mathematically and boiled down to a probability. I guess if you are inclined to read too much into everything, and look for spooks in every darkened room than that may be news to you, but otherwise it doesn't really offer anything of interest. The instances of probability are ok for the first few pages, but after that I found myself flicking through the book. If it had been written in a fraction of the pages and sold at a fraction of the price it might have been good for something to flick through when bored or on the toilet. Otherwise it's just too much about a quite boring run of the mill subject.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)