Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 April 2018
Amazing energetic single. All 3 songs are flawless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
A classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2014
Brilliant single! B-sides are brilliant. Taken from the album that stunned record sales. The disc wasn't scratched and it arrived quickly. Top single! Arctic monkeys at their best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2013
Brilliant songs with wonderful b-sides - I love Bigger Boys and Stolen Sweethearts and Chun-Li's Spinning Bird Kick (instrumental), AMAZING
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Very good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2017
12 years on the single that broke Arctic Monkeys giving them a straight to No.1 hit still packs an audacious punch. Alex Turner's acerbic lyrics kick in after a superb instrumental introduction that grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. This was visceral excitement straight from the off, owing so much to the best punk music but with its own unique pub/garage rock updating. Rough around the edges it may be but that's half the fun of this seminal track that introduced the world to parent album "Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not".

Currently available at an absurd 1p from Music Magpie even if you own the parent album there's reason to buy this single thanks to two fine bonus tracks. First up "Bigger Boys and Stolen Sweethearts" is a paean to a lost girlfriend taken by the titular bigger, wittier rival. Turner's turn of phrase here reveals his own sly, dry wit in a close cousin thematically to The Special A.K.A.'s "What I Like Most About You Is Your Girlfriend" and Jilted John's eponymous hit. Third track "Chun Li's Spinning Bird Kick" is an instrumental named after a character who first appeared in the Street Fighter II arcade game and the title refers to her signature move. Both support tracks have merit, but then much of Arctic Monkeys' early pre-fame tracks, originally breaking the band via a then novel use of being available as free mp3 demo downloads from their website show the band at their best. A top single.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 17 April 2015
Not only was the catchy, loud, in-your-face 'I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor' the Arctic Monkeys' first number one hit, it was their first ever single, taken from the album Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not. Usually I tend not to bother much with singles, I'll head straight from the album, but with this band I make sure I collect them all, because the B sides on the discs are always worth investigating.

The perfect guitar pop song 'Bigger Boys And Stolen Sweethearts', with it's humorous lyrics, is easily one of my favourites from the Arctic's early days, and the instrumental 'Chun Li's Spinning Bird Kick' is such a cool tune, and I'd welcome more like it.

The cover of this single is pretty vintage now, remember when you could buy cigarettes at 16? Anyway, an epic single!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2005
Cant believe people are slating the Monkeys! Dont be put off, check em out, especially Bigger Boys and Stolen Sweethearts, its the funniest track i've heard all year and i'll definately be going to see them when they get up north this month!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2005
After hearing the first single 'from the ritz to the rubble' I downloaded everything I could find by these guys. I'm really looking forward to a forthcoming album. In the meantime, if you are a monkeys addict (like me...) download anything you can get your hands on by these guys. I definitely agree with the libertines comparison but the monkeys bring their own original stories to the table - excellent writing. stand out tracks thus far are: 'fake tales of san francisco', 'scummy', 'mardy bum', 'ritz to the rubble', 'settle for a draw', 'a certain romance', 'wavin bye to the train or bus', 'still take you home' and 'bigger boys and stolen sweethearts'
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2006
The Arctit Monkeys are a band born out of the Internet phenomenon, despite not using MySpace.com. The single brought the little record company up into the limelight and took them all the way to number one in the UK official charts. Fantastic for alternative music as a whole. The catchy guitarr riffs are trebled in power on the record as opposed to the rather ramshackles music video. 'Bigger Boy and Stolen Sweethearts' could not be sang in a more pure Sheffield accent. This band really do have the world at their feet. A brilliant number one single under their belts, another single just released (When The Sun Goes Down) and an album on the way. Life could not really get better for these little Monkeys right now.

A fantastic debut, number one single from a real up and coming band in the world of Indie music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)