Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 19 February 2011
Although called "Beswick Collectables", for the ranges it covers, it also includes figures produced under the Royal Albert and Royal Doulton brands.

The problem with a publication like this is that by the time it hits the streets, the prices are already out of date and, as this 10th Edition was first published in December 2008 (although the copyright date is 2009), changes in fashion and the continuing growth of online purchasing means that, whereas some pieces have increased in value, many are now available for much less than quoted in the book - for a more up-to-date guide to how much they are selling for, check out the "completed" listings on ebay (this shows the actual price that was paid for something), go to the websites of more traditional auction houses or browse round your local antique shops.

BUT...don't let this put you off. I didn't buy this book to look at the prices; I bought it because I wanted a comprehensive and detailed listing of the collectables I'm interested in, so I can first choose the figures I want and second research the current market.

This extraordinary little gem gives me exactly what I need.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2015
Every thing you want to no and what there worth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2013
I have a good collection of Beswick characters and like to keep a record of all the pieces available.
Nice book. thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
Good to keep in touch with pricing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2013
These reviews can by a bit hyped, but this book does what it says on the cover. Not as many variations in prices listed as first thought, but still worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2011
I purchased this book because of the title-Beswick Collectables -unfortunately it does not cover at all anything to do with Beswick horses. On the back of the cover it states 'a reference for all Beswick collectables' which unfortunately is incorrect. If you want to know anything about Beswick horses this book is of no use at all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 March 2011
This book is an excellent, comprehensive reference work of Beswick 'collectables'. This covers a wide range of figures including storybook, film and cartoon characters as well as various others which do not fall into this categorisation. So for example, The Cats Chorus, Footballing Felines, the Character Jugs and English Country Folk are included although they are not really covered by these categories. All the essential detail is there ie designer, description and the years of introduction and retirement. This book is invaluable to any serious collector and my only serious criticism of this aspect of the book, is that it would be much better if it was all in colour rather than just 32 pages. I presume the price of printing is the issue here, but is colour printing that much more expensive these days?

Do take the price guide with a pinch of salt. Charlton do have an unenviable task in collating information from many different sources - auctions, internet, dealers etc. and take an informed view as to what the current market value of any particular piece is. However, that is not to say this is the 'right' price and you will find that a bit of patience and a lot of searching around will mean you can normally buy much more keenly. Start by checking out what is on Ebay!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2011
We collect Beswick and have found this book invaluable for advice on the value of our collections. We currently have 3 collections on the go, all of which are in this book. We also use it to mark the ones we have to avoid duplicates.Have found it easy to follow and would recommend to Beswick collectors
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2010
I ordered this book on Beswick figurines, this is the most definitive book you can get, it is a brilliant tome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse