The Best Of Suede has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Best Of Suede Double CD

4.7 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews

Price: £24.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, 1 Nov 2010
"Please retry"
£10.99 £0.01
Only 8 left in stock.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
2 new from £10.99 9 used from £0.01
£24.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Delivery Details Only 8 left in stock. Sold by Media Vortex and Fulfilled by Amazon.

Amazon's Suede Store

Frequently bought together

  • The Best Of Suede
  • +
  • Hits
  • +
  • Blur: The Best Of
Total price: £35.66
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Nov. 2010)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Double CD
  • Label: Ministry Of Sound
  • ASIN: B0045OWIGG
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 6,168 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Animal Nitrate
  2. Beautiful Ones
  3. Trash
  4. Filmstar
  5. Metal Mickey
  6. New Generation
  7. So Young
  8. The Wild Ones
  9. The Drowners
  10. Stay Together
  11. Lazy
  12. Everything Will Flow
  13. We Are the Pigs
  14. Can't Get Enough
  15. Electricity
  16. Obsessions
  17. She's in Fashion
  18. Saturday Night

Disc: 2

  1. Pantomime Horse
  2. My Insatiable One
  3. Killing of a Flash Boy
  4. This Hollywood Life
  5. Europe Is Our Playground
  6. My Dark Star
  7. Sleeping Pills
  8. By the Sea
  9. She
  10. Heroine
  11. The Living Dead
  12. The Living Dead
  13. The Big Time
  14. The 2 of Us
  15. The Asphalt World
  16. Still Life
  17. The Next Life

Product description

Product description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

BBC Review

Alongside Pulp, Suede stood apart from the plethora of bands that spread, acne-like, across the UK in the mid-90s explosion of Britpop. That much is evident when listening to this new compilation. It’s essentially a reissue of 2003’s Singles collection (minus three songs, but with an extra disc of non-single tracks); but even in 2010, when most Britpop sounds dated and clichéd, the zeitgeist that Suede captured throughout their years together seems just as relevant and pertinent today.

The songs of that first disc are, of course, the ones that everybody will know. It kicks off with Animal Nitrate, which, 17 years after it was first released, still radiates with the edgy, contentious energy that defined early Suede. Indeed, no other band has ever quite managed to romanticise England’s urban sprawl and decay with as much efficacy as Brett Anderson’s poetic lyricism. With or without Bernard Butler, Anderson incisively captured the messed-up, drug-addled yet hopeful, dream-filled lives of a generation who grew up during or after a Thatcherite Britain, something that Metal Mickey, Trash, Everything Will Flow, Beautiful Ones and the relatively lethargic wistfulness of Saturday Night ably demonstrate. And although the later singles – especially Electricity and Obsessions – noticeably lack the bold, brash spark of their earlier counterparts, instead of becoming something of a self-parody they contain a lyrical and musical intelligence that was absent in much of the lad-minded music of their era.

Yet perhaps the most significant aspect of this compilation is the second CD: 17 songs taken from Suede’s first three albums (or their singles). The likes of She, Heroine, The Asphalt World and the brittle poignancy of The Next Life are testament to Suede’s extensive talent – proof they weren’t just anti-heroic poster boys for a disenfranchised generation and the cynical record label marketing men. In fact, that some of their very best songs – namely Europe Is Our Playground, My Dark Star and the tender, abject melancholy of The Living Dead, all present here – were B sides, shows just how much Suede had to offer. Having reformed earlier this year, time (and any new material) will surely tell if they can recapture the bright nuclear lights of their past. For now, though, this is a great tribute to a flawed, but nevertheless fantastic, career.

--Mischa Pearlman

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 42 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

VINE VOICEon 1 November 2010
Format: Audio CD
11 Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 January 2017
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?