FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Best of Robert Silver... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Best of Robert Silverberg Paperback – 31 Dec 2012

1.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 31 Dec 2012
"Please retry"
£9.64 £14.32
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£19.26 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Product details

  • Paperback: 722 pages
  • Publisher: Subterranean Press; Revised ed. edition (31 Dec. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1596064722
  • ISBN-13: 978-1596064720
  • Product Dimensions: 15.5 x 4.3 x 22.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 1.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,735,212 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From the Inside Flap

The Best of Robert Silverberg: Stories of Six Decades is a landmark volume that offers exactly what its title promises: the finest short work of one of the finest writers ever to grace the field of science fiction. Updated and expanded from 2004's Phases of the Moon, this mammoth collection contains twenty-six stories and novellas, along with a generous amount of introductory material. The result is the definitive one-volume overview of an extraordinary career.

The earliest story, "The Macauley Circuit," was published in 1957, the latest, "The Prisoner," in 2010. In between these narrative bookends are some of the most astonishing fictional creations of the modern era, many of them winners of major awards. Included among these are "Good News from the Vatican," "Sailing to Byzantium," "Passengers," and "Enter a Soldier. Later, Enter Another," as well as two of the most remarkable novellas you will ever encounter: "Nightwings" and "Born with the Dead." Supplementing these award-winners are such bona fide classics as "Sundance," "Schwartz Between the Galaxies," "Capricorn Games," and "To See the Invisible Man." And the list goes on. Intelligent, exhilarating, and endlessly re-readable, The Best of Robert Silverberg: Stories of Six Decades is an irreplaceable volume, one that no one with an interest in modern science fiction or in serious, ambitious fiction of any sort can afford to miss.

About the Author

Robert Silverberg has won five Nebula Awards, four Hugo Awards, and the prestigious Prix Apollo. He is the author of more than one hundred science fiction and fantasy novels -- including the best-selling Lord Valentine trilogy and the classics Dying Inside and A Time of Changes -- and more than sixty nonfiction works. Among the sixty-plus anthologies he has edited are Legends and Far Horizons, which contain original short stories set in the most popular universe of Robert Jordan, Stephen King, Ursula K. Le Guin, Gregory Benford, Greg Bear, Orson Scott Card, and virtually every other bestselling fantasy and SF writer today. Mr. Silverberg's Majipoor Cycle, set on perhaps the grandest and greatest world ever imagined, is considered one of the jewels in the crown of speculative fiction.

Customer Reviews

1.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
I'm sure the contents of the book will be excellent, but physical condition is very bad with dog-eared pages and back cover and ingrained dust on all edges. I won't return it since I can clean it up myself with less inconvenience. But it has obviously been on a shop or warehouse shelf for a long time and certainly does not qualify as a new book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3.5 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evolution of a writer 26 Mar. 2013
By Allen Stenger - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
This is an expanded (three more stories) and slightly revised version of the same publisher's 2004 collection PHASES OF THE MOON (it even has the same cover art, which in turn was reused from the British publication of The Book of Skulls). The stories are usually long, in the 20-30 page range and sometimes as many as 60 pages, with 26 stories in the collection. Each decade and each story has a 1-2 page introduction, in which Silverberg talks about his personal life at that time and sometimes about the genesis of the story.

My favorites from this collection are "Passengers" (humans have their brains taken over and their bodies abused by extraterrestrials), "Good News from the Vatican" (the conclave elects a robot Pope), "Needle in a Timestack" (a complex time-travel and manipulation story), and "Against the Current" (a man and his Prius travel slowly and inexplicably backwards in time).

The collection is in chronological order, and the most interesting aspect of reading it is watching Silverberg's evolution as a writer. He started out in the 1950s writing in a very commercial style, and there's not a lot to distinguish his writing from that of the mass of writers at the time. In the late 1960s he embraced the science fiction New Wave and became more experimental. From the 1970s on his stories became less plot-driven and more character studies. The finest example of his character studies is not in this book but is the 1972 novel Dying Inside.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Collection 7 Feb. 2014
By Joseph Shargal - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Robert Silverberg was a solid writer in his younger years. Inthis collection, I liked some of the stories, some were average, some I really disliked, mainly the later ones.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know