Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
83
4.5 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 August 2015
A distinctively 1980s artist with a lot of charm, Howard Jones chalked up an impressive chain of pop hits throughout the decade. This successful 'Best Of' package contains a glorious helping of key singles and album cuts which Howard recorded on the Warner label from 1983 - 1992, making it a very comprehensive compilation.

Although the material here relies very heavily on the 1980s synth-pop sound, it's also soulful, melodic and warm. I find this rather refreshing, and it makes Howard stand out a little from some of his contemporises. He has a great voice, and not only does the music sound good, you should also take a real listen to this man's lyrics because he can certainly write a good song. My favourites are 'What Is Love?', which has words that I am certainly able to relate to, the bouncy and addictive 'Things Can Only Get Better', and the excellent 'Everlasting Love', which should have been a much bigger hit than it was in the UK.

In terms of a 'Best Of', this 18 track album is very good, and a fine introduction to the work of Howard Jones, one of the most appealing pop artists of the 1980s. Some of the tunes I do regard as filler, especially towards the end, but the great songs do out way the unmemorable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2017
Saw him live recently and had forgotten how good he was. How could the 80's have happened without him? great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
great work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
Excellent music in perfect condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2013
Forget S.Cowell and all the other music killers, switch off X-Factor , switch off The Voice and listen to a real voice.
I put the cd on and almost everyone in the room knew every word to the tracks , no one says they didnt like it.
The room lit up with smiles , how often does that happen ?

This is a great collection of H.J.'s greatest hits with all the classics included.

I wonder what Jez is upto now he's no longer in chains
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2003
Excellent - what a way to remember the decade and one of its strangest yet strangely influential artists.
HJ made Synth-type music slower...and it worked. Whats more, some of his lyrics (that I didn't pay much attention to originally) are actually very good.
Thoroughly enjoyed it. It's an occasional long drive play more than anything else, but its worth the blast from the past alone.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2016
No issue with cd but failed to download on iPod - first one ever to do so and therefore not sure if dodgy quality.

Sounds fine on CD player but will limit my listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2017
Out of 22 songs,unfortunately their are only a handfull that I remember that I really liked,so I am afraid this was an expensive cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2015
Took me back to the 80's, didn't realise he had made so many hits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)