Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2008
Ezra Bayda speaks from the heart here and the language is easy to understand.Unlike some other books on Zen you will not come away from this feeling like "yeah nice idea this Zen but I find it a bit intimidating" All the chapters in this book are concise and very readable,and each chapter deals with a different aspect of Zen.

I really enjoyed the chapter on practising with fear, it struck a chord deep within me and has triggered some "interesting" nostalgic memories.Ezra Bayda has not been sheltered from pain and his battle with immune disorder does add even more credence to his teachings.

This is by no means an epic read but I think its money well spent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
This one of the two or three best books on quiet prayer that I've ever read. Bayda's profound and compassionate understanding of how the human mind, indeed of the human being works, and of how our habits of thought ensnare and restrict us - this is all very helpful. It's a very practical book. He's a Buddhist and I'm a Christian. But just as a Buddhist might write a great book on, say, baking bread - and the book be none the less helpful to Christians for it being written by a Buddhist - so this book on quiet prayer and conversion of life loses nothing for being written by Buddhist. I can't think of a Christian who - were he or she to approach it with an open mind - wouldn't find it helpful, and be a better Christian for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
A day to day practice method is set out here, with typical issues encountered by the lay practitioner. Ideally read with 'At home in the Muddy water' which covers the same type of approach. Not however necessary to own/read both books as the content and principal approach is similar. Rooted in Joko Beck's approach to Soto Zen practice, helps one to see that "even this is my path'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2012
I have learnt very much from this book. It's an account of years of practicing meditation and based on real life experience. Unlike other books on this topic, it is written in a simple and powerful way, so much that I have read it again and still use it to remind myself of the profound teachings. Whether you are afflicted by the anxiety of living or simply want to find a different approach to living, this is an excellent book to read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
Love this guy's work. It offers exactly what it says on the cover! He is a friend of Pema Chodron too so if you love her work, you might love this one too....makes a lot of sense, good practical advise and to the point instruction. Enjoyed it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2008
Yeah, bit short this. Still, meant I could read it in a day.

He offers some useful tips, e.g. something called the Three by Three.

It's not quite as 'revelatory' as I was expecting, given its title, but it's still a nice read.

Recommended for beginners and maturing students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Really good beginners book. Definitely recommend and has a great outlook on life. Anyone looking for their beginnersbook try this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Points of this book were very useful but I found it to stylised for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
amazing book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Being Zen. Poor writing; weak content; not recommend; substantiated by examples not necessarily true.Author not necessarily who he says he is.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)