Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.99
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Behind the Lie: A new addictive and emotional suspense thriller by [James, Amanda]
Kindle App Ad

Behind the Lie: A new addictive and emotional suspense thriller Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.99

Length: 208 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deals: Books from 99p
Sign-up to the Kindle Daily Deal email newsletter to discover daily deals from 99p.
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 775 KB
  • Print Length: 208 pages
  • Publisher: HQ Digital (21 April 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06XKCP4L6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 10 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #28,550 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
The cesarean scene in the prologue is poignant, hooking in my emotions and getting me 100% behind Holly before getting to know anything about her past or her relationship with Simon.

5 weeks before the birth, best friend Demi visits. They haven’t seen each other for a while as Demi has been travelling. The atmosphere between them vibrates with things left unsaid and gave me a distinctly uneasy feeling! Simon is lonely in London while Holly is staying at their house on the beach in Cornwall. Things might not be as bright and lovely as Holly thinks they are …

3 weeks after the birth and Holly’s emotional pain became mine. Nobody is talking about the death of Ruan but she can’t talk about her own feelings either. Inside she’s screaming. She can feel Ruan close to her and dreams that he’s still alive. Simon collects her and baby Iona to take them back to London and while Simon is at work, Holly is given an anonymous letter which changes everything. She’s determined to investigate herself having told only Demi what her plans are. What follows is so tense and nail biting with images that will take me a long time to forget!

Holly’s narration is in the first person and Simon’s the third. I find when that when I know something that the other main character/characters don’t, it makes for a tense read. In Behind the Lie I was urging the other person to see what I could and shouting at them when I knew that what they were about to do was the wrong thing!

Demi, Simon and her mum think Holly is losing her mind so she is ALWAYS questioning her own sanity, especially reflecting on her past life before she met Simon. I loved the analogies between the coastal environment and Holly’s own mental wellbeing.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this book. I was gripped from the opening chapter. The storyline drags you in and doesn't let you go until the final page. As well as being a well-thought out story, the characters are so well written that they keep you interested from beginning to end. With themes of betrayal and fear, this is no lightweight read and I found it impossible to put down. Will be looking to read more of Amanda James' books. Thanks to Net Galley and HQ Digital for the opportunity to read and review this book.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The prologue sees Holly West giving birth to her twins, for her baby boy not to survive.
We then flash back five weeks to when Holly is told there is a problem by her husband, Simon, a consultant. Their baby boy is not growing well and he fears he is too small to survive. When she gives birth the worst happens and her son dies before she is able to see him leaving her understandably bereft, not just for the loss of her son but for the guilt that her drug dependency and bad lifestyle before she married Simon could have been the cause.

She then receives a letter that tears her world apart. Someone claims that Ruan is alive and living with new parents, and that they were part of this cover up.
Is it lies spread, vicious and seeking revenge, or is it the truth?
Due to the problems in her past she knows that no one will believe her, so she sets out to seek the truth herself.

Amanda James is an elegant writer, effortless to read and with a pace that keeps urging you to turn the pages. The whole abduction story line is one that is well thought and executed, and just when Holly thought things were over, it picks up its pace yet again to deliver further blows which see Holly fearing for their lives.

I was rooting for Holly from the start, I love a strong female protagonist. I also loved her strong friendship with Demi and Jowan, and seeing just how far they would go to protect her and her babies.

I really loved this book and was reluctant to finish it!

A definite 5* from me. Fans of Susan Lewis and Diane Chamberlain will devour this.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Behind the Lie takes you on a rollercoaster with each turn of the page. It follows the story of Holly who is pregnant with twins and has found a successful and loving husband. She's turned her life around from what she had before. The only problem is when she gives birth only one twin survives. But Holly is certain that her son is still alive only no one believes her.

The story follows Holly as she seeks to find the truth. It's tense and edgy and a fabulous read that kept me hooked to the very end.

Thank you to NetGalley, HarperCollins UK and Amanda James for the chance to review.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a well written book which went along at a quick pace. The main charcter Holly is expecting twins and seems to have it all. However, her husband, Simon, is not what he seems and events get very nasty. Hollys ex-lover is traumatised by war and the fact that he left her years ago and her friend doesn't believe her. Holly overcomes the traumas and friendships and relationships are strengthened.
Barnes & Noble
Indie Bookstore
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover