Beethoven - Symphonies 4 ... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beethoven - Symphonies 4 and 7 (Abbado, Bpo) [DVD]

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £19.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Promotion Message Promotion Available 1 Promotion(s)

Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
2 new from £19.99 4 used from £13.51
£19.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Enjoy £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, November 30, 2016 Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Format: PAL
  • Language: Castilian
  • Subtitles: German, English, French, Spanish, Italian
  • Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe. Read more about DVD formats.)
  • Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 1.77:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Tdk
  • DVD Release Date: 30 Jun. 2003
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B00009XW84
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 222,617 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)

Product Description

Special Features

  • Multi-Angle (partial): In the Seventh Symphony you have the option to switch to the "Conductor Camera" and experience Claudio Abbado from the orchestra’s perspective
  • Abbado on Beethoven
  • Soundcheck

DVD Technical Information:

  • Sound Formats: Dolby Digital 5.1/DTS 5.1/PCM Stereo
  • Picture Format: 16:9 Anamorphic (enhanced for widescreen TV)
  • Region Code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Running Time: 107 mins
  • DVD Format: 9/PAL
  • Subtitles: English, German, French, Italian, Spanish

From the Back Cover

Contains the following, recorded live at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Rome, February 2001:
Symphony No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 60
Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Abbado has recorded this set of symphonies several times and this disc is taken from his last set recorded in 2000-2001. It represents a considerable modification of his previous interpretations and this series reflects his thinking in the light of recent research into period performing practice. It is generally thought to be his finest whole set.

Abbado uses the new score prepared by Jonathan Del Mar which incorporates `the very latest Beethoven research and represents a valuable supplement to the experience gained by Abbado over many years' (booklet quote). Although Abbado does not go as far as using authentic period styled instruments, he nevertheless uses a much reduced orchestral size in these performances and avoids part doubling in the wind. The speeds are generally fleeter without losing necessary gravitas in the slow movements. Speeds are kept constant and avoid the Romantic period type of fluctuations to be found in the recent set of Thielemann performances for example. The same can be said of phrasing. Textures are leaner but not acerbic as in some early examples of early instrument performance.

The result of this is enhanced transparency while delivering considerable dramatic weight. Although this is not in any way a `Romantic' interpretation of these symphonies, it is impossible to miss the passionate nature of the performances which incorporate plenty of performing `brio' from all concerned.

This is a very successful pair of performances. The sound is presented in DD 5.1, DTS 5.1 and stereo. This is superior to CD sound as the file size on DVD is larger and of wider range. The camera work is good giving close-up and more distant shots without distracting hyperactivity.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category