+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis / Brahms: Ein deutsches requiem / Verdi: Messa da requiem Box set

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

RRP: £24.99
Price: £16.40 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
You Save: £8.59 (34%)
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Box set, 12 Mar 2012
"Please retry"
£9.12 £7.77
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
30 new from £9.12 2 used from £7.77
£16.40 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Product details

  • Audio CD (12 Mar. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: WCJ
  • ASIN: B006WKDTK0
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 336,706 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : I Kyrie
  2. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : II Gloria in excelsis Deo
  3. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : III Gratias agimus
  4. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : IV Qui tollis peccata mundi
  5. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : V Quoniam tu solus sanctus
  6. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : VI Credo in unum Deum
  7. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : VII Et incarnatus est
  8. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : VIII Et resurrexit
  9. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : IX Et vivam venturi

Disc: 2

  1. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : X Sanctus, sanctus
  2. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : XI Benedictus
  3. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : XII Agnus Dei
  4. Mass in D major Op.123, 'Missa Solemnis' : XII Dona nonis pacem

Disc: 3

  1. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : I Selig sind, die da Leid tragen
  2. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : II Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras
  3. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : III Herr, lehre doch mich, dass ein Ende mit mir haben muss
  4. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : IV Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen, Herr Zebaoth!
  5. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : V Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit
  6. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : VI Denn wir haden hie keine bleibende Statt
  7. Ein deutsches Requiem Op.45 : VII Selig sind die Toten, die in dem Herren sterben

Disc: 4

  1. Messa da Requiem : I Requiem
  2. Messa da Requiem : II Dies irae
  3. Messa da Requiem : III Tuba mirum
  4. Messa da Requiem : IV Mors stupebit
  5. Messa da Requiem : V Liber scriptus
  6. Messa da Requiem : VI Quid sum miser
  7. Messa da Requiem : VII Rex tremendae
  8. Messa da Requiem : VIII Recordare
  9. Messa da Requiem : IX Ingemisco - Placido Domingo
  10. Messa da Requiem : X Confutatis
  11. Messa da Requiem : XI Lacrymosa

Disc: 5

  1. Messa da Requiem : XII Offertorio
  2. Messa da Requiem : XIII Sanctus
  3. Messa da Requiem : XIV Agnus Dei
  4. Messa da Requiem : XV Lux aeterna
  5. Messa da Requiem : XVI Libera me

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Super highly recommended
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Verdi Requiem is worth the price of this entire package. 10 Jan. 2015
By pekinman - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I am writing only in favor of this Verdi Requiem recording. If the Brahms and Beethoven masses are half as great as Barenboim's Verdi then do not hesitate. Even if those other two are not-so-great this set would be worth the price just for this magnificent Verdi Requiem. It is a shame that Erato has not kept this individually available in its catalogue. But they are part of the Warner Industries now so those days are probably long gone. One thing though, since these were all Chicago Symphony Orchestra and Chorus recordings you can rest assured that the quality of the musical side will be top drawer. And Barenboim had some of his greatest moments in Chicago.

First of all Erato has come up with one of the most spectacular sonic experiences in my listening career. I worked with that orchestra during the Solti years and have heard many live and recorded performances in that (once) difficult concert hall (it tended to be dry and Solti often refused to record there preferring the Masonic shrine up town). But Erato went in new with Barenboim and figured it out. This is one of the finest Verdi Requiems on record in every sense.

I am no great fan of Daniel Barenboim's Wagner or Mozart, though he was more convincing in the latter, especially his Cosi fan tutte (also with Erato), but he was surprisingly effective in other repertoire. I hope that he goes further into the Verdi operas because he seems to shine in the Italian world more so than the Germanic (Wagner and Bruckner) which is surprising, given his very great popularity amongst the younger set in those German works.

This Verdi Requiem is one of his greatest Chicago recordings, maybe THE greatest. It was also one of the last of Margaret Hillis's recordings with her marvelous Chicago Symphony Chorus. It would be boring to detail the many great moments of this recording. The orchestra and chorus are splendid, the soloists, mostly, ditto, and the Erato engineering is spectacular. Barenboim is a great Verdian. What more is there to be said.

My only slight quibble would be that Waltraud Meier lacks the gonzo edge of other mezzos in this role, notably Oralia Dominguez for Ference Fricsay on his no-longer-available second live recording from Berlin in 1960, or Agnes Baltsa for Muti in 1979 (EMI).

Beyond that I have nothing but kudos for the soloists, notably Ferruccio Furlanetto's dark and glowing bass. Alessandra Marc does NOT scoop as was her wont in those days. And Domingo pulls her naturally powerful and charismatic voice back in order to blend as an ensemble.
A very fine team of soloists.

I'd recommend taking a chance on the Beethoven and Brahms pieces with this set simply on the power of the Verdi and Erato's magnificent engineering in Orchestra Hall in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? Let us know