Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
29
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
28
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2013
This is a beautiful book!

To be honest the above statement says it all; however, there has to be more than 20 words. You will not find instructions in here, but you will find lots and lots of high quality photos of fabulous Lego art. Models included cover many themes such as Monsters, Aliens, Birds, People , Buildings, Mosaics, Space Ships and much more. There are a few interviews with the artists themselves but this is really a book of photographs. It is impossible to pick a favourite, and even the models in themes I am not that interested in are stunning. There is nothing about this book that is wrong... well perhaps just one thing; there are no aircraft, but perhaps that could form part of a second book.

If you love Lego you will love this book and if you don't but love ingenuity and art then you will love it to... this book has given me so much inspiration!

And finally Mike Doyle, can we have more!

AndyT
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Beautifully presented, crammed full of a variety of colour photos of both Mike's work and that of a slice of the Lego community of fan-builders. I show this to my friends who don't understand what a grown man is doing with Lego in the evenings after his kids have gone to bed! Showcases the talent of the builders featured and ably demonstrates that Lego is an art medium in it's own right. This is your coffee table book if your coffee table is sitting on the floor surrounded by piles of bright bricks and plates, but I have shown it to arty friends who are not into Lego who sang it's praises too. Well worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This is Lego as art, and why not, if it can inspire someone. Probably most of the pieces are aspirational and if that's what you want and accept, I'd say this book is an investment that will last a long time. (I bought it for a 3 year old lego fan and he liked it, I think it's a book I'll have on my bookshelf for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
I bought this for my Lego addicted son who is moving out of his boyhood into mid-teenhood and needs a bigger fix. This has expanded his imagination even further although he appreciates that he maybe does not have 3,000 pieces of thesame block in the same colour. He dreams on
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Great! I brought this book with christmas vouchers back at the start of last year and love it! Would highly recommend to all, whether lego enthusiasts or just fond of creative ideas.

Particularly good for a coffee table book to flick through.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Bought this as a Christmas present but going to buy it for myself as well - really impressive images of genius, intricate creations. Now trying to find were I can get some large prints for my living room...geek. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Lego as you've never seen it before. This book gives an utterly fascinating perspective on Lego as an art form.
My favorite piece was a Lego recreation of 'That scene' from Ridley Scott's Alien.
Excellent as a gift for anyone regardless of their interest in art, it's simply one of those exceptionally quirky books that everyone will be compelled to go through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
grandson . he adores Lego ( he is aged 10) and love smaking up his own complex madels. he just loves turning the pages to see what others have done. This is an inspirational book . it DORS NOT contain any plans or instructions,
He loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
This a beautiful book full of high resolution colour photos of amazing Lego models constructed by numerous Lego artists. A whole variety of objects are modelled from the fantastical to the surprisingly realistic, everyday objects and animals to fictional characters, and both big and small.

This book is not a guide on how to build Lego, but instead showcases the incredible potential of the combination of Lego and a bit of creativity and imagination! The book is broken into sections by artists or theme. The artist sections include interviews about their interest in Lego and their works, but the vast majority of the book is taken up with the pictures of the Lego models. Themes include food, everyday objects, CubeDudes, birds and other animals, characters, buildings, transport, mosaics, spacecraft, and various robots.

This book is packed with creative, artistic, and inspirational models. If you are a Lego enthusiast (like me) you'll definitely want it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Two words: simply stunning. When I first saw this book being announced, I knew I had to have it. It's filled with breathtakingly sharp colour images of models that will blow you away. Think of this book as a catalogue of some of the world's most amazingly creative models and dioramas. The complexity ranges from entire mountain-side models of a Sci-Fi world to stunning mech models to super minimalistic caricatures. My favourites from this book are the derelict houses, the almost photo realistic bird models and the space ship models. There are so many models in this book by so many different creators, that there is bound to be something in here for everyone. I'm actually running out of adjectives and superlatives to adequately describe this book.
This book would make a great gift for anyone who likes LEGO or simply appreciates art and creativity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse