Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 27 December 2017
Excellent product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
what i expected
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
as described delivery good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2018
all items received in good time, i was very pleased with all of them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2015
Wonderful, magical, inspiring read. Ms Jekyll had such an artistic and spiritual relationship with growing things she makes one want to not only experiment and create in ones own garden, but rush out and observe as many other gardens and growing places as possible. Brilliant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2013
Informative and easy to read. Ihave heard so much about her waz of gardening that i thought it was about time to read it.Certainlz gave some good tips.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 1 May 2011
This Kindle edition, after a bit of detective work, features the second half of "Wood and Garden" published 1899 (?). It misses chapters dealing with the garden from January to December, but does include "Large and Small Gardens, Beginning and Learning, The Primrose Garden, Colours of Flowers, the Scents of The Garden, The Worship of False gods, Novelty and Variety, Weeds and Pests, The Bedding Fashion and its Influences, Masters and Men". The Kindle excerpt only gets you as far as an introduction by Ms J.

Not quite sure why the mother of English gardening has attracted so much opprobrium from another reviewer. As this doesn't include the full text I can't judge as I'm not interested in abridged books. Having read bits of Jeckyll years ago, I can't see what would raise so much rage. I think I'll wait for the full text version myself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2014
This book is really dated. It includes musings on how uneducated and 'simple' gardeners obstruct their 'master''s educated and worldly gardening preferences and many similarly old fashioned class-based prejudices. It contains precious little gardening advice apart from various tirades against common taste and random pet hates. So, apparently, magenta is dreadful, dwarfing horrid, show plants a scandal and bedding unacceptably in bad taste. I guess it would make a very interesting addition to someone's social history of gardening project.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2015
Vita's writing style is wonderfully upper class!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2011
I want to give NIL stars, but can't. So please discount the one given! One of the worst books I have ever purchased. It is poorly written by a rude, obnoxious author. It isn't worth the paper/screen it's written on. There is no useful content at all. Don't bother even if it's free!!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse